Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was my first successful sourdough starter! I made this on Friday, kept it in the oven with just the oven light on, and that made a nice warm little womb for this starter! :-) Today, day 5, I used 1.5c to make "San Francisco Sourdough Bread" from this website, and replaced what I took out with 1.5c flour & 1.5c water. The bread turned out great and had a definite sourdough taste, even on the first use, so I can't wait 'til it ages a little more for more of that great flavor. Thank you so much, Esther!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
506 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I let mine sit out for 4 days before transferring it to a mason jar and storing in the fridge. WARNING: Don't put an air tight lid on. If you are using a mason jar, just lightly close the lid allowing some air in. Otherwise you may have a problem! The starter is fermenting and has a tendency to "grow". Make sure there is some room at the top of the jar for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I wish I would have known I needed to "feed" the starter. My first loaf came out like a brick. I have since given the starter a pinch of suger and it seems to have livened up and is ready for the next go-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This starter has been working out really well for me. I used this basic recipe but fed the starter twice a day for a week with 1/3 warm cup water and 1/3 cup flour. Right before I put it in the fridge I added a pinch of sugar and more flour/water. The 4 stars is because the results are much better if you feed it. I made San Francisco Sourdough Bread by Donna on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I absolutely love sourdough bread but was never sure about the whole starter thing... finally I gave in and did some research. I found a website that went on and on about how 'starter newbys' fail repeatedly, the difficulties of starting starter, etc.... obviously they didn't try this recipe! I've kept mine alive for 2 weeks now and made my first loaf of sourdough. Not too sour yet but rose to gargantuan proportions! I feed mine 1/4 c of flour, 1/4 c of water every day. It always has a nice layer of brown fermentation on top. Just mix it in, it's apparently normal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Very good and easy even for me. I've never made a sourdough starter. I kept feeding it (eery day) for 4 days before I made my first loaves (rounds) of San Francisco Sourdough bread. My family ate one up in about 10 minutes! I had enough starter to give away to two more people and mine went in the fridge to 'sleep'. I love it. It's like a pet you need to feed and take care of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I may be back to edit this review but for now I have to criticize it for not telling me to feed it daily once I start with 1/4 flour and warm water. It's been in my oven with the light on for 4 days. I figured there must be a problem since it was not rising. I opened the reviews and see that this step was missing. FEED IT...anyway I threw it out and started again. Hopefully I will have better results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This starter is very forgiving! I was worried my home wasnt warm enough for fermentation since it is a cold winter here but it did ok! I put it in the oven with the lioght on for 7 days...feeding 1/3 cup water and 1/3 cup flour every day. I used it to make San Francisco Sourdough on this site and it was a hit!!! It had a great sour taste so i am sure it will only get better. I even gave some starter to my mom!! This makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Be sure to use a LARGE container - I mixed mine up in a 4-cup tupperware and it oozed all over the counter within a couple hours (albeit during 31C/88F weather). Otherwise, seems to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I've used a sourdough starter in the past using yogurt and lowfat milk, but this was so easy and I had everything on-hand, so I tried it and my starter was actually ready within 24-hours.I am very pleased with this recipe. Thank you Esther for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States