Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Easy recipe, easy to follow, and easy to make! My starter is still going strong! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent all purpose starter! Just need to remember, it likes to be used. Try to use it at least every 2 weeks to keep it "active".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
works very good, I covered with a few layers of cheese cloth. Can't wait to share it with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I loved it. Very easy for me to make. Never had made before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow was this easy, and great. I did add a teaspoon of sugar, my own touch. I was stunned by the amount of hooch that it produced and floated to the top. Just stirred it in and used as is. Great flavor, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Sourdough starter is so basic that a baby could almost get it right. But I rate this one 5 stars because Esther detailed the instructions so well that I could hardly go wrong. When it was ready, this was the best and easiest starter recipe I have ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is great. I use this with a super simple sourdough bread recipe that's just 1 1/2 cups of starter, 2 cups flour and 3/4 tsp salt. It's been great both as a traditional loaf and in the bread machine. I've had this starter going about a month now and it's starting to get a really nice sourness going, but even when it's not yet sour it still tastes really good in a simple dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Hill Afb, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
The first starter to ever work out for me--I didn't have any issues with discolored starter which thrilled me because it seems like every other starter I tried was an epic failure (one I made even exploded--I have no idea how I achieved that, but it was one really memorable experiance, I'll tell you). I cannot WAIT to use this with something. Thanks! NOTE: I waited almost a week for mine. It's purely up to you how long you wait, I just chose to wait longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong but mine did not sour at all. I did exactly as the recipe states, plus I fed it everyday. It did get the brownish liquid on top and was bubbling like crazy. But it just never soured and I let it age for 8 days. It started thickening up too. I tried making the San Francisco Sour Dough bread with this starter hoping it would taste like sourdough bread. But, although the bread is very tasty, it tastes more like a white bread because the starter didn't sour. I think I will let it age some and see what happens. But if it doesn't sour at some point I will be tossing it in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Tried this starter twice and did not work at all either time. The first time it "exploded" in about 2 hrs, then just seemed to die. The second time it turned to alcohol, and tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States