Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I think the recipe will be fine but like many others I feel the directions are very poor. Afer three days my starter smelled good and had the brown liquid on top. But it did not expand. I read the reviews and researched a few other sites and found out about feeding it. The recipe here should mention that you still have to feed it during it's birth. I just added 1/3 cup warm water and 1/3 cup rye flour and I am hoping it will bubble and expand. The directions should be upgraded for us beginners. I deducted two stars becasue of the poor directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This has been such a fun project! My husband started the starter and we've made Sourdough Rye and today I made a basic Sourdough loaf. Wow. So delicious, easy and honestly, fun. I've had four people already ask me for the starter recipe just this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was my first time for making sourdough starter. I mixed it up in a two quart glass jar and stirred it daily with a wooden spoon. Five days later I made the San Francisco sourdough bread, 1/2 of recipe. Then I added 3/4 cup of flour and water and a pinch of sugar to the starter. Very easy and the bread was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Awesome starter. makes really good sourdough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Accidentally used triple the amount of yeast it calls for... a nice sour aroma showed up after the first day. Put my starter in a gallon sized plastic tub with holes poked in the lid (after i tried to put it in a 6 cup glass jar. I think due to the extra amounts of yeast it had to work with it was a little enthusiastic in its expansion... never again) Its day three now and I'm quite sure I've got some form of alcohol on top. Smells extremely ripe and I will be trying out the San Fransisco Sourdough today. Will write the results. Baking is my life, I like making sweets and candies; but i LOVE making my own breads. I hope to own my very own bakery sometime in my future. This recipe might help me in that achievement and for that I thank you Esther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is so easy to make. I leave my on the kitchen counter and it's usually ready in 4 days. I use this starter to make Amish friendship bread. Hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very easy to follow. Gave me great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonstop
Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We've had ours going for about 6 months, and pass it back and forward between family members. It started out quite sweet, but has been slowly gaining a sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I am so glad I read the reviews before trying this! I forgot to feed the starter once and it never bounced back. I think there is very little live yeast left in it as the bread comes out very flat and dense. I have now started adding extra yeast and this seems to help. There is also not a very strong sour flavor but I hope this will improve with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
loved this so much so easy and yet so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States