Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I am in agreement with WAHINISUZIE- the step about feeding it daily is not listed. I'm a newbie at bread making so maybe this is common knowledge for the experts - I too have had my concoction in the oven with the light on for four days with no results. I will try again and feed it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Not bad but a pain to keep starter fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Stuart
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I am very excited about this lol I am on day 2 and I have lots of bubbles. I read the reviews here and have decided to feed it 1/3c flour and 1/3c water and a pinch of sugar. I have read some place that feeding it once a week is fine once it's going good. Does anyone know for sure. Thanks so much Michele
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Hi Well I just made my first ever starter. What I want to say is I understood the video to say whenever you USE a Cup of starter then replace it with a cup of flour and a cup of warm water and a pinch of sugar stir it all up, and refrigerate it until you make another loaf then replace it again the same way. if any is using a jar like the video use a larger one than a Quart jar. my dough is going to run over for sure. is this normal? All of the above is after the 4-8 day's. Please let me know. thank you. Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Malnati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Yay!!! Finally a starter that worked for me!!!! My only suggestion is YOU MUST FEED IT EVERY DAY WHEN STARTING!!! I began mine on a Saturday, fed it 1/3 cup water and flour every day and by Wednesday it was ready to use!!! Now to check out all the recipes that are possible now that I have a great starter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I love this recipe & I did not feed the starter at all until the 4th day when I took a cup out to make bread... Bread was gone by my two kids & I before it could get cool! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I used it at 4 days and it was very mild in flavor. It was tasty. Thanks, Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Smelled wonderful for first 3 days, 4th day and this is smelling more like vodka than sourdough and is very thin, more like a thin pancake batter. Do I throw it out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickieLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Hume
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Brilliant little starter I started mine with a pinch of sugar and a couple of drops of Lindersfarn mead to give it an extra little kick. Bread tasted amazing with a slight subtle twang of honey from the mead in the starter. Really gives it that extra edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haochi
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great sourdough flavor and a great starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States