Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
My husband loved these!! He said it was the best sourdough pancake he had ever had. I thought they were pretty good. There are a few comments that they are thin but a true sourdough pancake is meant to be thin. We ate them with strawberry jam and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
we have loved this recipe for years, it's a change from other fluffy pancakes. These are thinner, but can add 1/4 c of flour to firm up the battter. Also add a mashed banana and a handful of choc chips for special mornings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
The perfect thin pancake. I did not add the water since my starter was thin already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A Keeper. Made them this morning for my Uncle and I and he just loved them. I thought from the rest of the reviews they would be thin like crepes, but heaven's no and just delicious. The only flour in these is the flour in the starter. I made my first batch of starter from a Family Recipe yesterday and used it this morning. So, old starter may have had a stronger sourdough flavor. I made these using my very thick gloppy starter, so the 3/4 cup may have been a cup full or almost. This isn't a science either. I use a cast iron griddle that covers 2 stove burners and used my 2oz Stainless Scoop as a measure. I got 9 pancakes 4 1/2- 5" pancakes. My picky adult Son said these are good Mom. Keep this recipe. They did puff up in the centers and just like all pancakes flattened down as they cooled a bit. This recipe was very easy and quick to make and no problems, and certainly these pancakes are not flat. Different starters such as the runny ones will make a difference, in that case then add a bit of flour to a thicker consistency. Flavor and texture are nearly as good as any other pancake on the market.We ususally always use Krusteaz and I have to thin that alot to get the batter to spread out. This is a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Stars and dots don't line up, so hopefully I'm giving this 5 stars! Easy and yummy - especially with fresh blueberries on top! Followed others suggestion of adding additional flour until batter is desired consistency. Great way to use sourdough starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I used a full cup of starter so increased the milk to 1/2 cup and the sugar to 2 Tablespoons for fear the kids would not like these too sour. Made eight beautiful, evenly cooked pancakes. I measured out the batter with a 1/3 measuring cup. The kids begged for more, and I enjoyed them as well. A bit sweeter than Krusteez, but I liked that, and the sourdough tang was definitely there, but it was not overpowering. I will make these again. Oh, and I should mention I've never had sourdough pancakes before! Thanks for the great first experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These were amazing. I was a little concerned the sourdough taste would be overwhelming (my starter is a very strong one). However, I was pleasantly surprised. These were light, fluffy, and had an amazing flavor. I did add a little flour as my batter was so thin that I'm not sure it would have made crepes, and I added about a teaspoon of vanilla. With syrup these were some of the best pancakes that I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellowsnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These were the best pancakes I have ever made. I don't usually like thin pancakes but these changed my mind. They were light but still hearty and flavorful. I took my starter out of the refrigerator, fed it, and let it sit on the counter at room temperature the night before making these the next morning. Just writing about them makes me want to make some again tomorrow morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Freeland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
We loved this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
LOVED them. Added a little flour. Hubby thought they were just okay, but he's not into changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States