Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Nice sourdough flavor and quick to mix up. The batter DID seem a little thin, so I added a scant 1/4 cup of flour. They turned out great! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A Keeper. Made them this morning for my Uncle and I and he just loved them. I thought from the rest of the reviews they would be thin like crepes, but heaven's no and just delicious. The only flour in these is the flour in the starter. I made my first batch of starter from a Family Recipe yesterday and used it this morning. So, old starter may have had a stronger sourdough flavor. I made these using my very thick gloppy starter, so the 3/4 cup may have been a cup full or almost. This isn't a science either. I use a cast iron griddle that covers 2 stove burners and used my 2oz Stainless Scoop as a measure. I got 9 pancakes 4 1/2- 5" pancakes. My picky adult Son said these are good Mom. Keep this recipe. They did puff up in the centers and just like all pancakes flattened down as they cooled a bit. This recipe was very easy and quick to make and no problems, and certainly these pancakes are not flat. Different starters such as the runny ones will make a difference, in that case then add a bit of flour to a thicker consistency. Flavor and texture are nearly as good as any other pancake on the market.We ususally always use Krusteaz and I have to thin that alot to get the batter to spread out. This is a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
My husband loved these!! He said it was the best sourdough pancake he had ever had. I thought they were pretty good. There are a few comments that they are thin but a true sourdough pancake is meant to be thin. We ate them with strawberry jam and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
It might be that have an especially potent starter, but these pancakes had way too much sourdough flavor to be good. My kids ate them, but only after they were drowned in syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I used a full cup of starter so increased the milk to 1/2 cup and the sugar to 2 Tablespoons for fear the kids would not like these too sour. Made eight beautiful, evenly cooked pancakes. I measured out the batter with a 1/3 measuring cup. The kids begged for more, and I enjoyed them as well. A bit sweeter than Krusteez, but I liked that, and the sourdough tang was definitely there, but it was not overpowering. I will make these again. Oh, and I should mention I've never had sourdough pancakes before! Thanks for the great first experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
A nice change of pace from regular pancakes. Mine were a little thin, but some extra flour would easily remedy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Stars and dots don't line up, so hopefully I'm giving this 5 stars! Easy and yummy - especially with fresh blueberries on top! Followed others suggestion of adding additional flour until batter is desired consistency. Great way to use sourdough starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I did NOT like this at all. It definately was waaayyy too thin. I had to add flour as well. Different taste, not at all bad. After I added flour, they didn't burn and stick, and actualy rose up to a nice thick pancake. Doesn't make too many though, you'd have to double the recipe at least for more than 2 or 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
The perfect thin pancake. I did not add the water since my starter was thin already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the recipe is not clear about the "starter." The reason that ratings and comments have been all over the spectrum is that the "starter" is a highly variable ingredient. People may be using starter with different water/flour ratios and and different stages of the feeding cycle. That being said, mine were DELECTABLE. My starter was 1:1 (or in bread baker's terms, 100% hydration). I took 100 g of the starter out of the fridge the evening before, at dinner time. I added 100 g water and 100 g flour. It was very thick. By the next morning (about 12 hours later), it had increased about 50% in volume. It was almost gloppy in consistency. I measured out 3/4 cup for the recipe. After combining all of the ingredients EXCEPT the water, I judged that the consistency was perfect, and it was. The pancakes rose nicely and had a great consistency. I made two plain ones so I could sample the taste, then I even added blueberries into the "wet side" 30 seconds after pouring the next batch onto the griddle. The consistency was strong enough to hold the blueberries half submerged. Just fabulous. I meant to take a picture of the remaining one, but it was no longer "remaining" when I got back to the table with the camera. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States