Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Doubled this recipe (following it to a 'T') to make about a dozen pancakes. I've been looking for ways to use my sourdough starter other than for making bread, so thought I'd try these. This was my first experience with making sourdough pancakes and I'm not sure what I expected but the sourdough flavor was just too strong for me. While I loved that they were thin, the sourdough flavor was just way too strong and I'm not sure what, if anything, might be done to change that. My kids liked them though, completely doused in syrup, but I will probably not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBOOKOUT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the recipe is not clear about the "starter." The reason that ratings and comments have been all over the spectrum is that the "starter" is a highly variable ingredient. People may be using starter with different water/flour ratios and and different stages of the feeding cycle. That being said, mine were DELECTABLE. My starter was 1:1 (or in bread baker's terms, 100% hydration). I took 100 g of the starter out of the fridge the evening before, at dinner time. I added 100 g water and 100 g flour. It was very thick. By the next morning (about 12 hours later), it had increased about 50% in volume. It was almost gloppy in consistency. I measured out 3/4 cup for the recipe. After combining all of the ingredients EXCEPT the water, I judged that the consistency was perfect, and it was. The pancakes rose nicely and had a great consistency. I made two plain ones so I could sample the taste, then I even added blueberries into the "wet side" 30 seconds after pouring the next batch onto the griddle. The consistency was strong enough to hold the blueberries half submerged. Just fabulous. I meant to take a picture of the remaining one, but it was no longer "remaining" when I got back to the table with the camera. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
LOVED them. Added a little flour. Hubby thought they were just okay, but he's not into changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were just 'okay' for me. The batter was very thin so I added some pancake mix. They had a weird texture that I can't decide if I like or not. The flavor was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
4 stars because I did need to add the 1/4c flour to get a good batter, but the result was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
we have loved this recipe for years, it's a change from other fluffy pancakes. These are thinner, but can add 1/4 c of flour to firm up the battter. Also add a mashed banana and a handful of choc chips for special mornings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
you may need to add a tablespoon or so of flour if you use a more saturated starter .. but do keep them thinner like a swedish pancake ... they are supposed to be thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
We loved this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These were the best pancakes I have ever made. I don't usually like thin pancakes but these changed my mind. They were light but still hearty and flavorful. I took my starter out of the refrigerator, fed it, and let it sit on the counter at room temperature the night before making these the next morning. Just writing about them makes me want to make some again tomorrow morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Freeland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
We like the pancakes. The flavor was good but the textur reminded me of a crape not what I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States