Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Love love love these pancakes !! I omitted the cinnamon but grated a little lemon rind and squeezed a bit of lemon juice into the milk-vinegar mixture! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe. It's a thin batter, but, the cakes are light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin E. Bottjen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This turned out better than I had hoped! I am making the switch to sourdough breads for nutrition reasons. (Found out unfermented grains are bad for the teeth. I have 5 children & the dentist bills were too much!) The only recommendation I have for this recipe is to wait to add the water until all is blended to see if you'll need it. Mine did not need it and the pancakes fluffed up nicely. I have to double the recipe & it works fine. I just mixed it all up in one bowl--no fuss. The kids loved the pancakes! For lunch we'll try PBJ's...crepe-style! This will definitely be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Don't add the water until after you add the powdered milk. Usually just the liquid from the starter is enough to make a thin batter, at least at the texture I keep my starter. I've been making these for years whenever I have a starter going. Good way to keep my starter fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
New favorite pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wasn't crazy about them. Made them exactly like the recipe and they were very thin. Reminded me of very thin French toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought there was an error in the recipe. No flour? For pancakes? I was skeptical and almost added flour as other reviews suggested, but I reminded myself of my personal rule for internet recipes -- follow the recipe EXACTLY so I know if the recipe is bad (as opposed to thinking it's bad because my modifications didn't work out). So I did that -- made this exactly as instructed (note that my sourdough starter seemed pretty thin when I used it for this recipe). The pancakes turned out to be quite thin and flag (closer to a crepe than a pancake) with a nice (but mild) sourdough taste. EXACTLY what I was looking for. EXACTLY like the sourdough pancakes we enjoyed when we were growing up in Alaska. These are authentic Alaska Sourdough pancakes. If you don't like that, toss in a little flour to thicken them. They'll turn into a slightly sourdough tasting pancake that is also wonderful (I did that after putting the first THIN one in the skillet for a "test pancake"). After I added some flour (not much!), my husband and I both agreed that the original thin pancake (this recipe EXACTLY) was far more authentic and far more delicious. Either way (with added flour or as written), this recipe makes a nice pancake (delicious!!). Just make it as YOU like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wondered where the flour was and added some but was hard to turn and burnt before was ready to turn over turned grill way down but did't help will not make again. The taste was good but too hard to flip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Add 1/4 c. flour. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
As is, the batter is way too thin and salty. Griddle is too hot at 350. The bottom cooks too fast and the rest is too paper thin and runny to turn them without them falling apart. Needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States