Sour Cherry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
OMG!! Absolutely delicious. Just made it today, my husband and I have already eaten a third of it. Picked the cherries this morning and decided I was going to make this. I used whipped cream but would love to have had the ice cream. Next time. I had 4 cups of cherries and that worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was delicious! The cake is super moist and flavorful and the almond extract was a great touch with the cherries! Adding this to my recipe blog! www.adventures-in-food.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe that my family has been making for years and we all love it. We eat it warm with a little milk and a sprinkle of sugar and it is SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This cake reminds me of a cobbler. It is much easier to make than cherry pie, but it still gives you that great tangy sour cherry flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Really easy and yummy! I substituted coconut oil for the veg oil, but otherwise followed recipe exactly as outlined. I made it with fresh sour cherries and used a strong straw to push the pits out, which worked great. This recipe would work great with other fruits/berries as well. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was good and the cake was light. I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan, though still cooked it for the full 30 minutes. I eyeballed the amount of cherries until the top was covered and I thought that worked well. The cake wasn't what I think of when I hear "pudding cake", but good nonetheless. Served with vanilla ice cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was really good. It seemed to be lacking a little something to put it into the excellent category. I'm sure whipped cream or ice cream would give it more umph, but I'm rating it on it's own. I found it hard to spread in the pan, so I Pammed my spatula multiple times while spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I halved the sugar in the batter and cherries and it was sweet enough for us, used melted butter for the oil, reduced baking powder to 2 tsps and omitted the salt. I found this too thin, next time I would double or bake in a 9x9 pan instead of a 9x13. Tasted good and was enjoyed with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States