Sour Cherry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
OMG!! Absolutely delicious. Just made it today, my husband and I have already eaten a third of it. Picked the cherries this morning and decided I was going to make this. I used whipped cream but would love to have had the ice cream. Next time. I had 4 cups of cherries and that worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This cake reminds me of a cobbler. It is much easier to make than cherry pie, but it still gives you that great tangy sour cherry flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe that my family has been making for years and we all love it. We eat it warm with a little milk and a sprinkle of sugar and it is SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I halved the sugar in the batter and cherries and it was sweet enough for us, used melted butter for the oil, reduced baking powder to 2 tsps and omitted the salt. I found this too thin, next time I would double or bake in a 9x9 pan instead of a 9x13. Tasted good and was enjoyed with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Really easy and yummy! I substituted coconut oil for the veg oil, but otherwise followed recipe exactly as outlined. I made it with fresh sour cherries and used a strong straw to push the pits out, which worked great. This recipe would work great with other fruits/berries as well. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was good and the cake was light. I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan, though still cooked it for the full 30 minutes. I eyeballed the amount of cherries until the top was covered and I thought that worked well. The cake wasn't what I think of when I hear "pudding cake", but good nonetheless. Served with vanilla ice cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was really good. It seemed to be lacking a little something to put it into the excellent category. I'm sure whipped cream or ice cream would give it more umph, but I'm rating it on it's own. I found it hard to spread in the pan, so I Pammed my spatula multiple times while spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was delicious! The cake is super moist and flavorful and the almond extract was a great touch with the cherries! Adding this to my recipe blog! www.adventures-in-food.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
My husband pitted an entire bag of Bing cherries this afternoon because he wanted to make us a treat. I found this recipe, that seemed easy enough for him*, and told him what to do step-by-step. (*Not that he doesn't know how to bake -- he memorised my brownie recipe and makes some for me every month -- but he doesn't like using lots of ingredients.) He used reconstituted powdered milk, melted butter in place of the oil [thinking that would make up for the taste of the powdered milk], vanilla instead of almond extract [we don't have any], and baked it for exactly 30 minutes. After he accidentally broke a plate, cared for my subsequently cut feet, and sliced his own thumb while halving the cherry tomatoes for our dinner salad, we were *so* ready to eat this cake! We both loved it. Honestly, the only reason there is still some left is because we're too full to eat any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerBaker19
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Our sour cherry tree just became ripe for the picking, so naturally we needed some new recipes for our abundant harvest. We searched AR and came across this one. Like one of the reviewers mentioned, we used closer to 4 cups of sour cherries and also used almond milk, as I am lactose intolerant. This recipe rocked the house! It is absolutely delicious and I didn't even have ice cream ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States