Soft Giant Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
These were the best pretzels! I made them over and over, teenage boys requested them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I think this is the best Pretzel recipe on the site, super easy, and delicious. These pretzels put the frozen store brand to shame, and can be made in about 15 minutes with a stand mixer and some good coordination and a preheated oven. I want to try making with barley malt and increasing the soda bath time by 5 seconds, but WOW is all that I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My grandchildren and I enjoy making these together. They are delicious. However, need to eat same day. Do not stay well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made these twice in three days because they were so good. The first time, we skipped the salt and made "Cheese Dipping Sauce" from this site and they were fantastic! The second time I made these, we sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar and again fantastic. They are even great as leftovers. I jokingly said that I would make these every day and my husband's response was "I hear angels singing." I boiled the water in a large skillet and used a slotted spoon or spatula to carefully place them in and scoop them out and I didn't have any problems with them breaking up. I apparently will be making these often, I'm glad they were easier than it seemed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These tend to go soggy so quickly after cooling. I've never needed them to keep more than a few hours since they're so popular but I would like to send them in a care package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I skip the water step and after they are finished in machine i roll and cut them into little bites (approx 1" long) and bake. When finished brush with melted butter and sprinkle on salt, parm cheese, garlic or whatever you can imagine... my family and friends love them! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My kids were wanting mall pretzels today when we went shopping--decided to try them at home. I used my KitchenAid with the hook and let the water and yeast sit for 10 mintues as I do for pizza dough. Then added brown sugar and flour and let the KitchenAid do it's thing for 5 minutes. Resulted in perfect dough to use; even my 6 year old could handle it. We ended up making pretzel bites and they were great! We waited for the pretzels to float to the top before we fished them out and then baked them. Melted butter and salt was perfect and the overall effect was fantastic. I might try putting a little salt in the dough next time, and putting melted butter and salt on before I bake just to experiment. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Made these puppies and they were(past tense) absolutely the bomb. Will make another batch, maybe double tomorrow. They beat the mall pretzels. Give them a try and you will agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wow! You do not need to look any further for the simplest, best home-made soft pretzel! This is it, folks. This could not be simpler to make and the taste is outta this world. Thanks, Sherry, for a totally awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I found that the easiest way to submerge them is to boil the water/soda in a large pot, "tie" the pretzels on a large flat pancake turner, and leave them on the turner when submerging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States