Soft Garlic Breadsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I made a few alterations. Instead of a bread maker I did it the old fashioned way. I mixed the water, sugar and yeast and let stand for 10 minutes. I then put oil, garlic, cheese, and I used dry basil, since I didn't have fresh. Then added the yeast mixture. Then the flour. Mine only made 14 good sized bread sticks. I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on the outside along with the butter after baking. They are yummy with a dipping sauce too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These are great! I followed the recipe exactly except I used dried basil (didn't have fresh on hand). I also used the garlic butter recipe from this site as another reviewer suggested. Simply awesome! Also, I parbaked half of them and stored in the freezer. It was so easy to add some yummy breadsticks to any dinner...just pop in the oven for 5-6 minutes to finish them off and brush with butter of your choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
So yummy. Everyone ate about 4 each! I actually topped it with the "garlic butter" recipe from this site, and I think that really finished it off. I spread it on right before putting it in the oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was my first time making breadsticks. They were pretty good, but didn't look like the ones in the picture! I used 4 tsp of garlic powder and we couldn't taste the garlic in them at all. I also subbed oregano for the basil, just for personal preference. I did have to add 2 tbsp of water to the dough after the first 5 minutes, it just wasn't coming together very well, but the additional water did the trick. Also, they were done in only 13 minutes, as opposed to the 18-22 the recipe calls for, so you might want to check on them to prevent burning. They had a nice taste, it just wasn't garlic! I'd definitely make them again, but add in more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I always try to use real garlic when I can, so I did; I hear some people say 3 tsp garlic powder is not enough, and some say it's too much! I think it depends on the brand. I have some Lowry's that's more garlic than salt, and some generic that's more salt than garlic, it varies a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
We loved these--the parmesan helped make them delicately crisp, but they were soft inside and so delicious. I was concerned about the garlic--because the dough smelled strongly of garlic while it was rising--but it was perfect. I reduced the salt a little and brushed with butter mixed with garlic powder. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These were so amazing! Instead of doing them as sticks I did them as buns. I put them into a 9-inch cake pan and let them rise for about an hour. When the were done I poured garlic butter over the top. So good. It was better then pan bread from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Wow, these are amazing! I added half a teaspoon of crushed rosemary and they were absolutely fabulous. I will be making these again and again. I put half of them in the freezer immediately after I shaped them so when I take them out, let them rise, and bake them, we will see how well they freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I was pretty happy with the way these turned out, just whipped them up so we would have enough food for all. I used 2 cloves of fresh garlic and smooshed it with the salt to make a paste, I also brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled with the parmesan cheese. Not as fluffy as hoped but still darn good. By the time I got to them, there was only two left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Love love love this recipe! My son RAVED about the breadsticks, and thats saying a lot, as hes not a bread person but went back for seconds on the bread! One thing, I didn't have any basil, so I left that out but it was still fantastic! Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States