Soft Garlic Breadsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent breadsticks! My family loved this recipe. I live at high altitude so the breadsticks doubled in about 40 minutes and the second rise also took about 40 minutes. I followed another review that suggested using the recipe from here for garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
These had great flavor but for whatever mine did not rise very well. I'm assuming that my yeast didn't proof for whatever reason, so I will try to recipe again as we did really like the flavor and ease of these. Thanks for sharing, Charles Smith!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I thought these were great. I should have known that absent a baking sheet with a rounded form, the bottom would be flat - which at first disappointed me, but after I ate (a few ... okay - several), I found that I enjoyed the difference in texture (crunchy bottom, squishy top). I came out with 14 fairly large breadsticks using around 50g of dough per stick. As others have mentioned, watch cooking time - mine were completely done in 14 minutes. Only complaint (which I noticed in other pictures) was that for some reason, the top doesn't brown. You have a nicely browned bottom, and a pale rather sad looking top. Is that from the butter brushed on before baking? In any event, we enjoyed and will make again. Thanks so much for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
These turned out correctly, but lacked a garlic flavor, in my opinion. They were pretty good. Next time I'll add more garlic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These turned out absolutely fabulous!!!! i topped them with olive oil and sprinkled with oregano, Parmesan, and a little cheese for the last few minutes of baking. Next time i will double the recipe, they lasted maybe 10 min before the family devoured them all lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very soft and tender breadsticks! These were the perfect texture, but the garlic was too much for us. I prepared these by mixing the water, sugar, yeast in a bowl for 10 minutes, then added the remaining ingredients and kneaded for 6-8 minutes. Lightly oil the dough and place in a bowl to rise for about an hour. Then continue on as it states to make the bread sticks and then rise again until doubled. I did not bake more than 14 minutes. I will be making these again without the basil and garlic to please the palates of those in my household. Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but I will probably stick with some of my other "bread" bases to make sticks in the future. This is simply because these are only good fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Delicious. To make them extra soft I used cayro syrup instead of sugar and I added a 1/2 c. of gluten. I rolled the dough out in an oval and used a pizza cutter to cut it in stripps. Brushed with butter and sprinked with garlic salt and parmesean after the second rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States