Soft Garlic Breadsticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I made a few alterations. Instead of a bread maker I did it the old fashioned way. I mixed the water, sugar and yeast and let stand for 10 minutes. I then put oil, garlic, cheese, and I used dry basil, since I didn't have fresh. Then added the yeast mixture. Then the flour. Mine only made 14 good sized bread sticks. I sprinkled grated parmesan cheese on the outside along with the butter after baking. They are yummy with a dipping sauce too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
These are great! I followed the recipe exactly except I used dried basil (didn't have fresh on hand). I also used the garlic butter recipe from this site as another reviewer suggested. Simply awesome! Also, I parbaked half of them and stored in the freezer. It was so easy to add some yummy breadsticks to any dinner...just pop in the oven for 5-6 minutes to finish them off and brush with butter of your choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
So yummy. Everyone ate about 4 each! I actually topped it with the "garlic butter" recipe from this site, and I think that really finished it off. I spread it on right before putting it in the oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was my first time making breadsticks. They were pretty good, but didn't look like the ones in the picture! I used 4 tsp of garlic powder and we couldn't taste the garlic in them at all. I also subbed oregano for the basil, just for personal preference. I did have to add 2 tbsp of water to the dough after the first 5 minutes, it just wasn't coming together very well, but the additional water did the trick. Also, they were done in only 13 minutes, as opposed to the 18-22 the recipe calls for, so you might want to check on them to prevent burning. They had a nice taste, it just wasn't garlic! I'd definitely make them again, but add in more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I always try to use real garlic when I can, so I did; I hear some people say 3 tsp garlic powder is not enough, and some say it's too much! I think it depends on the brand. I have some Lowry's that's more garlic than salt, and some generic that's more salt than garlic, it varies a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
We loved these--the parmesan helped make them delicately crisp, but they were soft inside and so delicious. I was concerned about the garlic--because the dough smelled strongly of garlic while it was rising--but it was perfect. I reduced the salt a little and brushed with butter mixed with garlic powder. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These were so amazing! Instead of doing them as sticks I did them as buns. I put them into a 9-inch cake pan and let them rise for about an hour. When the were done I poured garlic butter over the top. So good. It was better then pan bread from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Wow, these are amazing! I added half a teaspoon of crushed rosemary and they were absolutely fabulous. I will be making these again and again. I put half of them in the freezer immediately after I shaped them so when I take them out, let them rise, and bake them, we will see how well they freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I was pretty happy with the way these turned out, just whipped them up so we would have enough food for all. I used 2 cloves of fresh garlic and smooshed it with the salt to make a paste, I also brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled with the parmesan cheese. Not as fluffy as hoped but still darn good. By the time I got to them, there was only two left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Love love love this recipe! My son RAVED about the breadsticks, and thats saying a lot, as hes not a bread person but went back for seconds on the bread! One thing, I didn't have any basil, so I left that out but it was still fantastic! Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lancing, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States