Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
As another reviewer said I, too, don't like to give 5 stars when I change the recipe. But this is great the way it is. (Albeit possibly too salty). What did I change? Chicken stock - no bullion. Ham hock - no diced ham. Omitted the salt & the bell pepper. I'm from Texas & have been growing then cooking my own peas for years. This is an easy almost dead on Southern New Year's Eve/Day staple. Will make again & again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this on a whim because I like Blackeyed peas anything with a lot of spice. I was not expecting this to be as spicy as it was. Very warm and very good flavor. I will do this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
SOAK YOUR BEANS FIRST!! This is an excellent recipe, but I am concerned about all the comments regarding the suggestions to NOT soak the beans prior to cooking them. No, you don't need to soak them before cooking to "soften" them but for more important reasons. Everyone needs to read the following article about the why soaking ALL beans is critical to releasing the anti-nutrients in them and enzyme inhibitors. It has nothing to do with making the beans "softer" and easier to cook. Article: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/why-you-must-soak-your-beans/ Besides, all it entails is putting your beans in some water overnight to soak before you cook them...how hard is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Excellent! Perfect blend of spices. Used a ham hock instead of ham/bacon, just becuase that's what I had on hand. For once, I made beans/peas and it was wiped clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I have made this twice. I have followed the directions and only made slight changes. I put the marinade and drippings from my ham in with everything else. I omit the bacon and salt. I also just throw the whole jalapeno in and mash it up once it is pretty cooked. Our kids are not yet accustomed to spicy, so we serve over rice with sour cream to mellow the spice. My husband adds some kind of hot sauce to almost everything he eats and he doesn't add it to this! :) (As you can tell I generally make this the day after a ham dinner!) Freezes well...if there are leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Excellente!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
love. My husband HATES ALL BEANS...refuses to eat em...when i even bought the bag of blackeyedpeas he complained it was 2dollars wasted...i begged him to try these...he refused. After seeing everyone else LOVE THEM...he gave in and now he brags about my black eyes peas and whenever i mention them he says "yum"...he even declares it "the only beans ill ever eat". THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Webb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
My husband loved this recipe. I left out the jalapeño but will add it next time. I didn't use bacon as there was none in the house but I had a huge ham bone which flavored the beans quite nicely. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsSalt44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
3 stars because the kids and DH didn't seem to thrilled. I made it w/o the cheese though. Also cut spices down a little and was still had a nice bite. I froze the second half - we'll see if I can make it more appetizing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States