Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I did not like this, even though I followed the recipe exactly. Very boring and bland. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I make this recipe and freeze the leftovers. When they're gone I make it again. This is SO tasty. The only thing I change is that I use one can chicken broth, 1 can veggie broth and 3 cups of water instead of the 6 cups of water. My husband and I both love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We have made this recipe twice for good luck on New Year's Day. Because my husband is not fond of spicy, I omitted the jalapeno, but otherwise followed the recipe, except for using bacon instead of ham. The first time I soaked the beans, which worked out fine. This time, I took the advice of many reviewers and did not soak the beans. It was lucky that I had decided to prepare the recipe the night before, as it took over 12 hours to cook on low (raised to medium half-way through). Next time, I will play it safe and soak the beans! Family loved it, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I was disappointed. Eight hours was too long to cook the beans. The consistency was terrible. I didn't have a jalapeno and cayenne is all heat, so I used 1 tsp. Chipotle powder to replace both. I also used chicken broth and water to replace the bullion cube. It had no flavor except heat! When I reheated the leftovers, I added a can of diced tomatoes, chili powder and extra cumin. I then served it over brown rice to cut heat and improve the consistency. It tasted better. I just can't stand to waste food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Left out the bacon, but these were the absolute best black eyed peas I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I had some fairly thick sliced sugar cured peppered bacon and it added an excellent taste. I also thought the recipe was a bit too spicy so I added frozen whole kernel corn, an extra cup of chicken bouillon, a can of cream of celery soup and a few other spices (like Nature's Seasoning, Accent, basil). Started out in a slow cooker but ran out of time and switched to a stockpot and cooked on the stove. Served over cornbread. Yum! I will definitely make this again. Had forgotten how much I like blackeyed peas. We ate this this for 3 nights, which is quite unusual...we are not big fans of leftovers. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe for black eye peas. Different from my norm. Did not have the jalapeno pepper and did not miss it. It was very spicy. Did not use bacon, did not miss. I used an 8 0z ham slice diced. No need for salt at all. Started them in the crock pot, but ran short for time and finished them on top of the stove. If they turn out too juicy,just smash a few peas and stir, this will thicken the broth. This pot of pea went faster than any I've cookd beause there were different. Very tasty. My daughter asked for the recipe. She will probably add the jalapeno. I can't take the fire - lols. Using this recipe again tomorrow, but with pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We love spicy food, but this was just a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I changed the ingredients, and normally do not rate when I do that, but did anyway since this was the first time I have cooked black-eyes in a crock pot, but that is the only way I will cook them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Used fresh Mexican chorizo (1 pound; cut each sausage into thirds) in place of ham and bacon, the paprika in the chorizo did not distract from the wonderful taste. Left out the cayenne as did not need that much heat. A great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States