Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wasn't impressed when I made it last year. However, there were so much left over I packaged it for the freezer. Needed a starch for dinner this evening, so we heated it up in the microwave. Must say -- time improved it dramatically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barth
Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect! I just left out the jalapeño and cayenne because I didn't want it to be a Mexican dish (just served it with baked ham rolls) Guests were so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Excellent and easy! Followed recipe; didn't change a thing. Boyfriend who doesn't like black eyed peas, said this was the best bean dish he has ever had. For those who said their beans were still hard after cooking 6-8 hours, I believe, based on past experience, that beans do get old and don't soften when cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really good, super easy and will make again! The beans do not need to be pre-soaked and thus the liquid content turned out perfect for us. I only used one slice of bacon but otherwise made as directed and cooked in a slow cooker for 8 hours. I won't pre-cook the red bell pepper next time as after 8 hours of additional cooking, they were pretty much pulverized and I would have liked them more intact. I didn't salt the beans at all prior to cooking but felt it needed a little salt. Also, this was not spicy enough for us so I added 3 or 4 squirts of tabasco and a few shakes of Tony Chachere's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I followed the ingredients as stated and the recipe was delicious. Even my husband liked them and he is not a fan of black-eyed peas but does eat them on New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my second year in a row making this for New Year's Day. It's easy to put together, smells great cooking all day, and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I added an extra cup of water and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My new "go-to" black eyed peas recipe. I made half the recipe, used my homemade chicken stock instead of water and bouillon cube, kept the whole minced jalapeno and added a scant 1/8 tsp. cayenne. absolute perfection! We're at high altitude, so I soaked the peas for 18 hours and slow cooker 8 hours. They turned out nice and tender. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was good. I wasn't sure about the dried beans at first, but it came out fine. Only thing is that next time I make it I would put it on High, so I can spend up the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was the 1st ever time for me to make black-eyed peas and they were a hit!! I made them per the recipe/instructions but omitted the jalapeno b/c I thought the cayenne pepper was all the heat it needed. We ate it as the main dish with buttermilk cornbread which was perfect. This is honestly the 1st dish I've made that my husband ate 3 servings of in the same day and he made sure to remind me that a tradition had been born so I'm now bound to make them every New Years. The only sad thing about making this is the fact that I only have one small bowl leftover for lunch tomorrow. ;) FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States