Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
These were okay. I wasn't a fan of the combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These are amazing. Made for a potluck and there was not a spoonful left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Followed the recipe but cut it in half. I really have never liked black eyed peas, but these were great. I'll actually make these more often and not just on January first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made these for New Years and they were wonderful. I did not soak them. The only change to the recipe was, I used chicken broth because I had no bouillon. We like spicy food and did not find this recipe to be too spicy at all. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen McCullough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upper Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very bland recipe for us, and I even added more garlic and cayenne. The jalapeño and red pepper were complete mush by the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Was reluctant to cook the beans without soaking, but based on the reviews took a chance. It was great. Used a smoked turkey wing instead of the ham and bacon. Put it in the crockpot with water to cover & cooked on high for a couple of hours. Makes a wonderful broth and the meat comes off the bone. Added the rest of the ingredients, but no bouillon as you have the broth already, & cooked on low according to directions. Added a touch of sugar near the end - calms the spicy a bit. Will do this again. One more tip - used a crockpot liner for the first time, makes cleanup a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I wasn't really impressed with this recipe as I found it to be missing something even after I doubled the red bell pepper, onion, black pepper, and garlic. Actually, I tripled the garlic and black pepper. I added 1/2 tsp more cumin, 3 large carrots, and used chicken stock instead of the 6 cups water and a bouillon cube, and I even put a huge ham bone in. The only thing that this recipe called for that I didn't use was the jalapeno which I substituted for a dried ancho chili because I wanted a more mild recipe that my little ones would be able to eat. My husband loved it, my toddlers liked the broth, but I was indifferent. I'm happy that I doubled everything. I'll probably make this recipe again, but with my additions. Maybe next time I'll add that jalapeno too because maybe I was missing that spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made as written, except used season salt in lieu of table salt, and added a tsp of cayenne pepper powder for a little heat. Family loved! Super easy, inexpensive, and oh so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Totally awesome New Year's dish! Being from the south, New Year's day demands that one have black-eyed peas. Sadly, I have never been a fan of black-eyed peas. Regardless, tradition dictated that this once a year ritual must be done. I tired this recipe with no changes and loved it! It was amazing how delicious this made those previously despised peas. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Best black-eyed pea recipe ever. Only adjustments I make are using chicken stock and adding one can of diced tomatoes. I use pepper bacon for an added kick. Fantastic with a little sour cream and cornbread. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States