Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This recipe was SO good! My husband is mexican and he loved it! The only thing was that it needed a little more salt, but other then that, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
My family makes this all the time and I never could get this recipe right. Thank you for submitted this recipes it was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was very tasty. I used both green and red enchilada sauce. I agree that you don't need all the water. I added a can of corn and a can of pinto beans to reduce the "soupiness"..thus adding more flavor. I served it over brown rice with shredded cheddar cheese on top. This is better than any I've had in the Santa Fe restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoilyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surry, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Knowing how to make traditional posole, I was skeptical of this recipe. I used chicken rather than pork because that's what I had. Being what I call a 'Throw Together' recipe (something you make from premade, usually canned seasoned items), this is really quite good. My entire family loved it. My father-in-law even duped my mother-in-law's dinner plans to stay for the soup (gotta love that!) and had several servings. I'd say, that makes this a pretty good recipe!! Thanks for sharing a much quicker version of this great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Everyone I have made this for loves it! I tend to use chicken rather than pork and I leave out the oregano, otherwise, there are no changes needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
this recipe was awesome!! My husband ate it up! I hardly had a sniff of it:) Will def make it again, but we're going to try it with the green sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Brittknee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
MY WHOLE FAMIL LOVED THIS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
WOW! This soup is fantastic. I made a few changes based on other postings. I only added a cup and a half of water, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin (instead of 1/2 teaspoon cayenne), mild enchilada sauce (still very spicy), only 1 and a half cups water, and 1/2 cup of cilantro. When I served it, I served it with lime and chili refried beans, cheese, sour cream, and chives. I am from Santa Fe New Mexico and have had many versions of Posole, and I think this is the best! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hurleygirly2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wonderful soup! I'd never had posole before, and this was an excellent version. I also cut back on water, added cabbage and cumin. My husband said, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my, this was delish! Didn't have cilantro but added ground powdered chile powder from NM and it was so yummy- like when we lived in Albuquerque!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States