Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It was a dark and stormy night ... and this Posole was absolute perfection. I ORCA'd it and scaled way down on the liquid, but YUM! Have never tried hominy before - love at first bite. Thx so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was incredibly good!! I followed the recipe closely- with a minor change or two. I sauteed the onion and garlic before I added it to the crock pot. I used three 10 oz cans of enchilada sauce- 2 mild and 1 medium. Instead of fresh green chilies, I used a can of diced green chilies. I opted out of the cayenne. We like spicy, but we don't like HOT. I served it with flour tortillas, shredded purple cabbage, avocado, more cilantro, and sour cream. Excellent meal, and even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I omitted the meat to make it a vegan dish, used green enchilada sauce and topped with avocado. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was so delicious. We made it for a crowd, some non-meat eaters, so we made both chicken and pork batches. Didn't have all of the ingredients, so we used half red and half green sauce in each, jalapenos instead of chiles, extra garlic, subbed corn for hominy, and homemade turkey stock in place of the water (added amazing flavor). Served with avocado, non-fat Greek yogurt, limes, lettuce, tortillas and tortilla chips. Everybody went back for seconds! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Yummy and so easy to make. I used green enchilada sauce and added the hominy the last hour of cooking. Added cumin instead of cayenne pepper. Served over white rice with sliced avacado, sour cream and home made tortilla chips. So good...this ones a keeper/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is very good, but I'm not sure how it is any different than tortilla soup. I added two cans of chicken broth, but next time I will add a bit less liquid so make it more like a stew. I am glad I used chicken broth instead of water, it really made the broth taste richer. I also added a couple shakes of cumin after tasting, it really needed a little more flavor, I think it got watered down by all the liquid. You could change this any number of ways, I think I might add corn and celery next time also. Overall a very good, very easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was excellent! A very hearty, authentic, flavorful, stew! I changed it slightly for personal tastes! I used pork and chicken cutlets. I used mild sauce and mild green chilies. I only used 1/2 the oregano and I added 1/2 tsp cumin. I served it with refried beans, cheddar cheese, sour cream and chives...and some homemade italian bread to soak up the broth! This meal hit the spot! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I followed this recipe pretty much exactly and it turned out wonderfully. My husband and I both loved it. We added both the posole and some rice to warm tortillas and wrapped them up like burritos. They were delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Fantastic! The broth was really delicious and was even better when we added a little sour cream and some avocado. When I make this again I will reduce the liquid just a bit as the flavor got slightly diluted. Nothing a little bit of salt and lime juice couldn't fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Used leftover pork roast, didn't have enough meat so I threw a chicken breast in as well, I didn't brown the meat. Added some cumin and subbed out the water for about 2 cans of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States