Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I love the crock pot & spicy stew. This was stellar. Quick, easy to assemble and reheats beautifully. I kicked up the heat a bit in the bowl, but followed directions exactly this time in the crock. Already have the ingredients on the shopping list for a snow day pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I have made this several times. My inlaws are hispanic and I was nervous to serve it to them but they loved it. My hubby raves about it. I did change it to what we are more used to as they make the tradition pesole in his family. In my version I used chicken breast, substituted chicken broth for the water. I used the mild red enchilada sauce. I also did not add the oregeno or onion, but instead used raw onion as a garnish on top. We served with tostada shells, onion cilantro, radishes,limes and sour cream . This is truely a keeper. One of my all time favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was very good. I added the juice of two lemons and instead of water, about a cup of chicken stock. The enchilada sauce and the canned green chilies I used were "hot" and wow, was this dish spicy--next time I'll use mild or medium enchilada sauce and chop my own chilies. Served over shredded green cabbage with tostadas, lime wedges, cilantro, and avocado cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good. Makes a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I had a flat pork "roast" shaped like a "7 bone beef chuck roast", most of these ingredients and no time so I threw this together in the crock pot. What a GREAT dinner it made! For speed I just browned the whole roast each side, threw two peeled and quartered potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot, half the ingredients, then the meat and topped it with the rest of the ingredients. Personnaly we like mexican without the spice, so we used 1 can hominy, 1 can green mild enchilada sauce and 1 can tomatillos, with quite a bit of cumin. (no red sauce or cayenne). You only need add enough water or broth to barely cover the ingredients. I called it my "posole style" pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Pretty tasty! I made it a little less spicy as I am a big whimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Super delicious! Husband loved it! Instead of using water, I added beef broth. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombiegirl1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Absolute best and so easy!!!! Have made it twice and making it again tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
A five-star recipe with confidence. Don't worry about "too much water"--just add enough to cover ingredients. Don't worry about "too much pork"--it's a stew not a soup, and such things are left to personal taste anyway. I followed the recipe exactly and left it on the counter on LO for 7 hours. Added the cilantro for another 30 mins. Served it with the traditional finely sliced cabbage and a wedge of lime. The result was medium-thick, rich with meat and hominy, loaded with flavor and color. On the side served white flour tortillas, hot and puffy from the cast iron pan. What a wonderful dinner for a cold November week night. I highly recommend this recipe and will definitely make it again. It was perfect in every way. This dish is medium spicy. If you like less heat leave out the cayenne or use a little less enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I want to gush about this recipe, because it turned out to be SOO good!! I went to school in Mexico City and had been craving this dish, which Mexican mama used to make. This is very close to her recipe- savory and delicious- to say nothing of easy! I used center cut boneless pork chops and cut into cubes and split the enchilada sauce into half mild (frontera red chile flavor) and half medium (chi chis brand). Only cooked 4 and 1/2 hours on high as I didn't have time to cook it longer. Meat was still tender in shorter time but cook longer if you can to allow time for the flavors to meld. Left out the chilis 'cause I didn't have any but added dry red bell pepper flakes and changed the onions to diced instead of sliced. Subbed beef broth for water, and added the fresh cilantro and a squeeze of fresh lime juice just before serving. Don't change the spices - they are perfect! Muchas gracias - es una receta fabulosa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States