Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Really, this could be a '5' since it has a great taste and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Fantastic posole. I did add chicken stock instead of water and will take someone's advice next time and add 1/2 cup cilantro, but truly is fine as is. Family did not know the difference. The pork loin roast should be as good as possible, makes a difference. Serve with cabbage and spices and limes and voiila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I am Mexican and this is a delicious!I used chicken instead of pork and it turned out great! Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is the closest thing to the posole I've had in Mexico, make exactly as the recipe calls, absolutely delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I cooked the pork roast the day before and roasted a chicken. The next day, I chopped up the pork and chicken, added the remaining ingredients and let it cook on low in the crock pot for about 5 hours. (I also used chicken broth instead of water) I served it by putting a large spoonful of white rice in the bottom of a bowl, posole next, then added sliced guacamole and a dolop of sour cream. Very good on a cold day. I brought some into work for lunch and everybody said the smell was amazing (they wanted some). Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlechien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Easy and really pretty good....I used black beans since I had no hominy on hand....will definately use hominy next time. I also added some cumin, garlic powder, sea salt and pepper for a more flavorful roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This has become one of my family's favorite dinners!! It's so easy to make and really good! I add a cubed, boneless, skinless chicken breast to the pork that is used. I also use our home grown roasted anaheim peppers and corn (along with the hominy!) if I have them in the freezer. Definitely a great dinner on a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
The enchilada sauce I used made this thicker than I expected. I'm more used to posole the way my husband knows it (being from NM) which is more of a soup. I found two cans of chicken broth and used them to try and thin it a little bit. I used a 28-oz can of sauce, but what I would do next time is use a 14-oz can of sauce and 2 cans of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was really good! After researching the dish, I served it with tortilla chips and garnished each bowl with sliced radish, green onion, chopped cabbage, chopped cilantro, diced avocado and finished with a squeeze of lime. It tasted like something I would eat in a special mexican restaurant. My whole family loved it. It tastes healthy and is refreshing with added garnishes. Nice winter meal but different from other soups and stews. **I have used several brands of enchilada sauce for various recipes. I'm thinking that could make it or ruin it depending on what brand you use. I like yellow can Old El Paso brand. I used one mild/one hot...no cayenne pepper cause I didn't want it to be too hot. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've never made posole before and this turned out great! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States