Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I think the key to this dish working is the quality of the enchilada sauce since that's where most of the flavor is coming from. Some of the more commercial brands may not have the quality ingredients to give it good flavor. I use one can of mild and one can of medium enchilada sauce made by Hatch, a brand that Whole Foods carries. I also use 3 lbs of pork shoulder since it has more fat and more flavor than the loin and remains very tender. I season it with s&p before browning it in olive oil and I add chicken broth rather than water to the cooker and an extra can of hominy. Otherwise I follow the recipe, sometimes leaving the cayenne out if I'm having guests who may not like too much heat. The garnishes are essential to the success of the dish and should not be left out. One last change is that I think the 6 - 7 hour cooking time should be on low. I've cooked it on high but only for 4 hours. I have no idea if this is authentic or not but what does it matter when it tastes so good?!? I've made this several times and its always been extremely well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Used Juanita's brand hominy; consider doubling amount recipe calls for. Used Las Palmas enchilada sauce, mild; diced up a green chili pepper. Soup was VERY spicy! Good served with guacamole, and I suggest sour cream (especially if you need something to cut the spiciness with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
good flavor, but needs more umph! Such as beans, or diced peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've never made because I thought it would be hard to make, but this was easy and really good. My brother wants me to make it all the time now. My fiance and his mom are El Salvadoran and they loved it. My mother in law said now this is how you make it. When your mother in law approves then must be good. Thank you. Actually making tonight again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Easy and the WHOLE family ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very easy to make. My husband is Mexican and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
WOW... Great simple recipe! I used a pressure cooker instead of crock pot. 1 1/2 hours later we had posole. BUT, after reheating it the next day it was 10 times better. So I suggest making it a day ahead. The only thing I did was to double the pork and the hominy, we like more filling and less broth. (I accidentally forgot the garlic though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Pretty good and pretty spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Oh My Goodness!! This was absolutely amazing! Whenever I go out for mexican I always order posole. I love it! I never knew how to make it and when I found this recipe I was sooo excited to try it out! My fiancé and I were both in heaven! I was very impressed by this recipe. It was simple and tasted amazing! I did not add the green chiles which im glad I didnt because the spice was perfect and I think if I wouldve added the green chiles it wouldve been too spicy. Also I only added just a bit of cilantro toward the end of cooking then added a bit more to the individual servings. I served it with cabbage, onions, lime, and cilantro with corn muffins on the side! Yum! This is definitely a keeper and this is a great winter recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States