Slow-Cooker Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I recently made this for a small group of family/new friends. I had made it once before and it was good enough for us at home, but wasn't sure what others would think, especially if they KNEW authentic Posole. Everyone loved it! the crockpot was gone! this is definitely a keeper, quick and easy if you have everything on hand, put it on before work or church and when you come back it will be all done. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Bailey
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Yup, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I am a novice in the kitchen know my way around the grill. Thought I would try this doubled the recipe because we eat hardy here. Set it up before work it was super simple and after shoveling snow all day to come home to this was awesome made me look like a big shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Jbb Moreno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Delicious. I used pork stew meat to save time and money and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This was a fantastic recipe. I added fresh herbs. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was pretty good and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
pretty good. used chicken, so no browning. I added a lot more hominy, 2 25 oz cans. half amount of cayenne, added sour cream and cheese for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Fite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Love the slow cooker tortilla soup recipe on this site, but wanted another good soup for those cold days. This looked like a great alternative. Sometimes all of the changes in the reviews make my head spin, so I made this almost as written to build my opinion. We really liked this. A thicker, spicier alternative to the tortilla soup's brothy consistency. I thought hominy was supposed to be corn-like, but found it to be almost more like a potato. A perfect mix with the pork (although chicken would be great too). The main thing I strongly recommend everyone do is use chicken broth instead of water. It's an easy change but makes soup so much better (if you haven't used chicken base, it will change your life). I poured in about 2 1/2 cups. I think pouring to the top would be too much. I used Old El Paso medium enchilada sauce, and it was excellent. However, after reading so many "too hot" reviews with medium sauce, I left out the cayenne. Even though I like it hot, I'm glad I left out the cayenne for my wife and daughter. Still had a good bite, but the cayenne would have been too much for them. Depending on your preference, I think maybe one more can of hominy would be fine. You can start with 2, and decide close to the end if you want to add another. Lime wedges, shredded cabbage and chopped onion are a must. Thinly slice radish is nice too. Traditionally, you serve the pazole, and have bowls of garnish for people to add as they like. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This receipe was perfect .. Of course I added a few more ingredients.. Cumin, bay leaves, garlic salt.. Picky husband approved !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is an incredible Posole! Have made several times already, fantastic, taste/heat/consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States