Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Fantastic we call this proposal beef because of one reviewer .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Marini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Husband has this in his top 10 all time favourite list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I loved this recipe. It is easy to make and great at a get together where you don't want to spend the entire time in the kitchen. An added bonus is it also taste great as leftovers and you can freeze them for a later sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceyrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Made as is and thought it was great! So easy, and lots of leftovers! My husband hates "cheap" roasts, but he loved this. We raise our own beef, so I'm always looking for ways to use tougher roast cuts. I think this would work very well with chuck. I will definitely put this in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I added about 1/4 cup of peppercinis and the juice that comes in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I have made this countless times since seeing it on here!! I agree with others there have been many times i have not used bread lol!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was so delicious! My husband said this is his new favorite dish. I did make a few alterations. As others suggested; I used a chuck roast instead of rump roast and I did two packets of mix. I only used about 2.5 lbs of meat since it's only the two of us, but kept the ingredient amount the same. Instead of using water, I used 2 cups chicken broth (it's all I had) and 1 cup water. I'm going to try beef broth next time, but the chicken broth worked just fine. After about 8 hours; I shredded the beef, removed the big hunks of fat, and threw in an onion (cutting the onion into long strips) and cooked for an additional 2 hours. After the two hours I sauted some bell peppers, still letting the meat cook for about another 30 minutes or so, taking my time knowing that longer cooking time means tastier meat. Once the bell peppers were ready, I put the meat on a french roll along with the peppers (and a few fresh banana peppers) some sharp provolone cheese and broiled in the oven for about a minute, just to get the cheese melted. For anyone who tried the meat at 8 hours like I did, do not judge the meat yet. It was good, but I was unimpressed (and actually a little nervous it wouldnt be good) until after the shredded beef simmered for at least 2 more hours. I kept the slow cooker on "keep warm" and snacked on the meat the rest of the evening and it just got better and better. I didn't even use a fork at one point haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I think this has been reviewed enough times to make it clear what makes this recipe work: double the salad dressing mix (use the Italian salad dressing mix recipe on allrecipes!), and add a beef bouillon cube (I only use one- this can get really salty, really fast). A couple more thoughts: I use onion and garlic powder (not onion salt or garlic salt), again because the salt can get to be a bit much. The other big change I make is, I use a nice meaty soup bone in place of the roast. I've never used anything but the soup bone so I can't make a comparison, but I can say that the soup bone yields a lovely, rich stock for this recipe. I serve it on a crusty Italian bread or baguette, sometimes with spinach sautéed in garlic and oil, and always with hot peppers ("hoagie mix" or "hoagie spread" here in PA). Makes for an excellent meal that freezes beautifully! We have this once a week and look forward to it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I doubled the Italian dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Double Italian dressing. Use beef broth instead of water. Used 3.5 chuck roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States