Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe except I cooked a 3 pound bottom round for three hours on high, removed and refrigerated. Once it was cold I sliced it with a meat slicer as thinlly as I could without shredding it. Before serving I reheated the reserved cooking juices. I then dipped the sliced meat into the hot juice to reheat before placing on buns. I then dunked the whole sandwich bun and all into the juice before topping with giardinera I bought in a jar. Almost as good as Johnnies Italian beef we ate when we visited Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
My husband and I really liked this recipe, made really good sandwiches and was good for leftovers. I felt like this something was missing, maybe needed more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
When I first started making this I was a little skeptical because of how easy it was. I was happy to find out it is a great recipe! It is nice to put on bread with peppers and I put a little toasted cheese on mine. It was very tasty and I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Ok Im from Chicago and I miss beef sandwiches trust me they are awesome..so I thought lets make it first off the seasoning is way off nothing like a good beef sandwich and chuck? No you use top round but cooking as long as the recipe states is so wrong and it should NEVER be shredded. The proper way is onion&garlic powder,Italian seasoning, salt & Pepper. Coat the meat in a 13x9 pan pour in 2 cups of water and 4 beef boullion cubes/or beef base roast it in a 400 oven 30 min per pound, take out chill the meat overnight or at least 4 hours. Save the "gravy" Slice meat paper thin then reheat in the juice do NOT leave it in there more then 10 min or it will become like leather. Thats Italian Beef I really wanted this recipe to be good that I tried but it failed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My husband says it is the way Italian beef should be made. He is from Chicago so he would know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
made this today, change it up a little bit. Used Onion powder instead of onion salt, added two beef bouillon cubes in the sauce pan as well. Also used two packs of Dry Italian mix for more flavor. We made combos using grilled sausage as a base in the hoagie roll, then provolone cheese, then put the beef on top. Used Mezzetta® Chicago Style Italian Sandwich Mix Mild Giardiniera for the sandwich topping. Was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASTR9BALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It was so easy to make. Personally think fresh garlic, onion and parsley makes it better. Add some cornstarch to the strained juice to make a great gravy to soak up with the bun. Guys loved it, I think they all went home and made it themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
OMG OMG OMG!!! Best ever. Been to Portillo's in Chicago and this definitely compares. Truly amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Ehlers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a pantry recipe that's quick to prepare and has great flavor. I had to halve the ingredients as my roast was only two and a half pound. I used the low setting for ten and a half hours. It was really tender and shredded easily. Next time I plan to add a sliced onion or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States