Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Maybe it comes out better as cupcakes. My friend and I both tried it and it was more like a coffee cake. Not at all what we thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
My sister made this for my mother's birthday celebration and the taste was very good. It was a little dry but that can easily be fixed with a great filling and frosting. It's a wonderful cake, taste really homemade and according to my sister quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This was an easy recipe just not all that flavorfull
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This cake was very simple! actually i made the cupcaked. The batter was thicker then a boxed cake mix and rich tasting. They baked up very nice. The color was more of a yellow cake..like a corn bread. Not light and fluffy....very heavy and the longer they sit...the drier they became(and i dont mean longer then 2 days)I liked hem best fresh from the oven with no frosting. I probably wont make them again...but continue searching for a nice white fluffy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
Everyone at the office and at home loved this cake (I used the cupcake version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
fantstic for kids, easy and tasty! We added lemon to make a lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
I made this with cupcakes, it is a really good recipe. I put 3 tbs. of sprinkles in the batter so the cupcakes would come out speckled. it worked well! i used another recipe i found on this site for frosting: i used buttercream frosting 2, i think thats what its called. it worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I needed this in a pinch and it came through for me. It was quick and tasty. I poured hot fudge sauce over the top and even my child gobbled it up. However, it is more yellow than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
It is easy to make and I enjoyed, but my food critics at home didn't enjoy it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Super simple! I made it with a half recipe of "Banana Butter Icing," also from this Web site, and served it to a very happy two-year-old birthday boy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States