Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this several times... But I recently moved and lost my cookbook, I couldn't find a good chocolate chip muffin recipe so... I threw mini chocolate chips in. They were wonderful. Such a good recipe. I did use cake flour. But other then that never changed recipe. Except for chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My new "old stand by" cake recipe. Love that it only makes 9x9 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newhousewife
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I was looking for a white cake recipe to make pineapple upside down cake (and iv never made it before) and I have this a try... It was awesome!!! As I preheated the oven I put 1/3 cup of Margerine in the pan (9x13) and put it in the oven to melt, once it was melted I mixed the Margerine with 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and put the pineapple rings on top... I made the cake batter as directed, but added a splash of orange juice( I didn't have pineapple juice) and poured the batter on top of the pineapple rings and baked as directed... So yummy! Moist, not too heavy and the pineapples caramelized perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made it exactly how the instructions said to. It was okay. Not like a regular cake though. Its in between cake and cornbread. It taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This cake is GREAT!! I added the extra vanilla and milk as suggested. Perfect cupcakes and perfect cake!! Not a single complaint!! :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Like other reviewers, I added more milk. I used self rising flour and omitted baking soda/salt. By doubling the recipe I yielded one 9" cake and 12 cupcakes and about 10 Mini cupcakes. They all rose beautifully and were perfectly mild without being too sweet. I used a simple cream cheese frosting and left the mini ones unfrosted for the toddlers. The cake was even better the next day. Next time I'll make it and frost one day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Best recipe ever .. its the easiest and most helpful thanks alot .. I use it alot I replace 2 tablespoons of flour for dark cocoa and get a chocolate cake, or I replace milk with any kind of juice and have the cake named by the juice :D I even used it as an upside down cake with pear and caramel (I reduced some sugar from the recipe and used it for the caramel).. I added some nuts and raisens and orange zest and it was amazing .. I do really thank you alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara Saleh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
SIMPLE AND DELICIOUS!! I dont bake cakes merely because the first time i did i was so dissappointed at the results but then i found this recipe and it turned out to be amazing . I did add some raisins at the top and a little orange zest in the batter and the family loved it. I sure will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe with just a few changes: I added more vanilla and 1/2 tsp salt. What I really like is the versatility of this recipe. I've already vamped and revamped it several times. Makes a good base batter for just about any twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I was pretty disappointed with this cake. Many of the reviewers said it was dense, so maybe I just don't like dense cake?!? I thought it was lacking in flavor and moisture. My mother owns a cake shop, so I guess I will stick to her recipe. It is much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States