Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This has become my go to recipe for white cake. OK,so maybe its not a TRUE white cake because the yolks are added but it is close enough. It comes together easy and comes out delicious. Everyone I make it for loves it! It does have a tendency to be on the heavy side. I have been asked it it is pound cake. I think I will try adding a little more milk as it seems to have worked for other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Maybe I did something horribly wrong, but the cake had the consistency/texture of cornbread, and it didn't rise properly. I had to scramble for a different recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very moist and delicious. I doubled the recipe, layered the cake and then made choclate icing to frost. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Just made this and figured out how many calories it is so I made these in cupcake papers I put two tbsp of the batter in each one so one cupcake is 175 calories half a cupcake is 87.5 calories and half of 1 half is 43.75 calories haven't tried the cupcakes yet hopefully they taste all right I mean I tasted the batter it tasted good also I replaced he butter with margarine because of less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this several times... But I recently moved and lost my cookbook, I couldn't find a good chocolate chip muffin recipe so... I threw mini chocolate chips in. They were wonderful. Such a good recipe. I did use cake flour. But other then that never changed recipe. Except for chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My new "old stand by" cake recipe. Love that it only makes 9x9 .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newhousewife
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I was looking for a white cake recipe to make pineapple upside down cake (and iv never made it before) and I have this a try... It was awesome!!! As I preheated the oven I put 1/3 cup of Margerine in the pan (9x13) and put it in the oven to melt, once it was melted I mixed the Margerine with 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and put the pineapple rings on top... I made the cake batter as directed, but added a splash of orange juice( I didn't have pineapple juice) and poured the batter on top of the pineapple rings and baked as directed... So yummy! Moist, not too heavy and the pineapples caramelized perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made it exactly how the instructions said to. It was okay. Not like a regular cake though. Its in between cake and cornbread. It taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This cake is GREAT!! I added the extra vanilla and milk as suggested. Perfect cupcakes and perfect cake!! Not a single complaint!! :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Like other reviewers, I added more milk. I used self rising flour and omitted baking soda/salt. By doubling the recipe I yielded one 9" cake and 12 cupcakes and about 10 Mini cupcakes. They all rose beautifully and were perfectly mild without being too sweet. I used a simple cream cheese frosting and left the mini ones unfrosted for the toddlers. The cake was even better the next day. Next time I'll make it and frost one day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States