Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe!!! For this I used 2tsp. of almond extract vs vanilla and I added a splash of canola oil to my milk. Also followed the suggestion of adding 1/2 tsp of salt to the dry ingredients. I'll be using this recipe from now on. No more boxed cake mix for me! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I love using this recipe. It has a great and even flavor, great with an accompaniment topping(icing, fruits, whipped cream...). I like using this recipe as my base and then add things into it(fruits, chocolate chips, SPRINKLES:)....). Its a good solid basic white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this for my husbands birthday and I will be going back to this recipe again and again. I doubled the recipe to make a layer cake and subbed in butter milk in place of regular milk. I made a butter cream frosting put raspberry filling in the middle. The key I think is mixing it very well. I heard the word "best cake I've ever had" being said. Next time trying a lemon curd filling with coconut topping yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and despite having to add a little more liquid to the mix,about a 1/4 Cup of water instead of milk,because the mixture was somehow dry,the results were an amazing and delicious cake. I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
So, I also did not pay mind to the negative reviews of this cake. Sadly, I should have. I am not a novice cook and just about everything I've ever made from this site has come out great. This is the first time I've felt the need to give a negative review. I made cupcakes with this recipe. As others have said, it has a very dense, corn-bread like texture. It is not sweet at all; in fact, it has almost no flavor whatsoever. And the cupcake tops had hardened so much after just cooling enough to frost that tapping the tops with a knife was audible! The chocolate frosting (my own recipe) I used was delicious but sadly did nothing to help the cake portion of the cupcakes. If you are looking for a flavorful, moist, delicious white cake, skip this recipe and keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is the strangest cake I've ever made or tasted. Erasing this from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This cake was excellent. I followed it exactly with the exception of adding slightly more milk (as suggested by others) and some chocolate chips (I'm a chocolate addict). I had no issues with it crumbling or resembling corn bread. I think the main thing as many have stated is you MUST WHIP THE BUTTER, SUGAR THEN EGGS UNTIL IT IS CREAMY. That appears to be key and worked like a charm. This will be my go-to vanilla cake. I topped it off with whipped cream and strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manitoban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My 10 year old made it tonight, she followed the recipe as is. It's a dense cake then it would make a very elegant cake!!. I will add a little more milk next time just to taste the difference and make my mind. It's a very small cake then it was perfect for the 5 of us, we have a bit left for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was a very simple recipe and tasty, the first time I made it I used a cream cheese frosting. The people I made it for had it eaten in a day and a half. They loved it so much I made 2 more the following week. They said it was the best cake I had every made, it was so fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelby2783

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe..... I was never good at cakes and always thought dat I cant make good cakes but dis cake was so yummy, soft and delecious.... I topped it with ur buttercream froasting n my whole family loved the cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States