Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this cake after reading a lot of the ratings. I beat the sugar and butter for at least 8 minutes and used 1tbsp of vanilla extract. Came out great. The cake was gone in half an hour. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I made this for my son's birthday as he asked for a vanilla cake. I am not sure what went wrong as the cake was so crumbly and falling apart. I doubled recipe to make double layer cake and could barely handle the cake. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My son has a dairy allergy and I've made this receipe several times substituting with vegan butter and coconut milk and it's delicious! Everyone who has tried it loves it. It's fluffy and ver flavorful. The perfect white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Delicious and easy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
So delicious! Increased milk to 3/4 cup as recommended by others. Unfortunately, I didn't grease my pan well enough so the cake fell apart when I tried to flip it. Turned the crumbles into a trifle with pudding and fruit to save it. At least this way I could sample the cake, and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I read a good amount of the reviews on this cake, so I was pretty sure the end result would be one of two things. It was either going to taste like a sugar cookie or cornbread. I was hoping for sugar cookie, but I got cornbread, even though the cake smelled like a sugar cooke! I don't get it. My husband thought it tasted like a pancake. Regardless, I won't be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake was really good! The taste was perfect and the texture was amazing. I made it for my sisters birthday, and all she did was complain that "it's not moist", but that just means more for me! I think it was really moist and was eaten up really quick. Her loss, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Tastes good, however, its not a white cake recipe, its yellow cake, and to make it a white cake, the yolks are to be removed from egg whites and thrown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna divinci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I just got done icing these cupcakes. I should have added extra milk like others suggested. They were very dry and dense but tasted alright. Won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I baked this cake with my grandchildren. They hated it. But it's all good yo. I liked it. The cake reminded me of myself. In my younger years that is. All fresh and new, but somewhat fragile. MmmmmMMMmmmmMmMMMmMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 2,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States