Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I made it exactly how the instructions said to. It was okay. Not like a regular cake though. Its in between cake and cornbread. It taste okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This cake is GREAT!! I added the extra vanilla and milk as suggested. Perfect cupcakes and perfect cake!! Not a single complaint!! :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Like other reviewers, I added more milk. I used self rising flour and omitted baking soda/salt. By doubling the recipe I yielded one 9" cake and 12 cupcakes and about 10 Mini cupcakes. They all rose beautifully and were perfectly mild without being too sweet. I used a simple cream cheese frosting and left the mini ones unfrosted for the toddlers. The cake was even better the next day. Next time I'll make it and frost one day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Best recipe ever .. its the easiest and most helpful thanks alot .. I use it alot I replace 2 tablespoons of flour for dark cocoa and get a chocolate cake, or I replace milk with any kind of juice and have the cake named by the juice :D I even used it as an upside down cake with pear and caramel (I reduced some sugar from the recipe and used it for the caramel).. I added some nuts and raisens and orange zest and it was amazing .. I do really thank you alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara Saleh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
SIMPLE AND DELICIOUS!! I dont bake cakes merely because the first time i did i was so dissappointed at the results but then i found this recipe and it turned out to be amazing . I did add some raisins at the top and a little orange zest in the batter and the family loved it. I sure will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe with just a few changes: I added more vanilla and 1/2 tsp salt. What I really like is the versatility of this recipe. I've already vamped and revamped it several times. Makes a good base batter for just about any twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I was pretty disappointed with this cake. Many of the reviewers said it was dense, so maybe I just don't like dense cake?!? I thought it was lacking in flavor and moisture. My mother owns a cake shop, so I guess I will stick to her recipe. It is much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this tonight for my family and ate it with no icing, it was AMAZING! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
its a simple recipe- being a holistic nutritionist I wanted to give this a holistic flare and tried it with whole wheat flour, carob chips, coconut milk and kept everything else the same. DELICIOUS. try it out. Melissa Ziaei
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Loved it! Made it last minute for a birthday and was a hit. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States