Simple White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
If this recipe could have negative stars it would. I bake frequently, so when I made this cake and it turned out to be a complete disaster I was extremely disappointed. Nothing could save that mess. Not chocolate frosting, not turning it into cake pops, nothing. It tastes like cornbread somehow and crumbled into oblivion the second my frosting knife touched it. Overall, a huge waste of time, money, resources, and tears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've made this cake twice now. It's very rare to find anything that all 4 of my kids like, but they all love this cake! I made it today and it came out so moist and delicious (no dry crumbly cake here!). I doubled the recipe to use a 10 x 14 pan. As other reviewers suggested, I added extra 1/2 tsp salt (or 1 tsp doubled) and 1/4 cup milk (1/2 cup doubled). I also sprinkled in a bit of cinnamon and used 1 cup sugar and 1 cup raw honey instead of all sugar. I put the butter (used Earth Balance sticks) in with sugar in stand mixer and let it mix for 5 min. Then added eggs one at a time, vanilla and honey, and mixed them together well. Then I alternated adding flour/baking powder mix and milk (used unsweetened almond milk). It really did come out amazing! I highly recommend trying the raw honey. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe was awesome!!! I added more milk and sprinkled in a little vanilla instant pudding. My daycare made it and they loved it. Thanks for the easy recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj tanner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This cake was very tasty but not quite moist enough for me. After increasing the milk to 3/4 cup and still not feeling satisfied, I decided to replace the milk with 3/4 cup of half & half. I even experimented and added 1/4 cup of "whipped" cream cheese!!! What a difference!!! I used this recipe for cupcakes as well( baked@ 325°). My son, who is my biggest critic, was eating them before I could get them frosted. They just melt in your mouth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
It's dense and not super flavorful but okay . Will add to next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Did this cake for 100 people for my daughter s first birthday! Amazing moist fragrant and tasty! Added some salt though to balance the sweetness and creamed the sugar and the butter for 40 minutes! !! Super easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Love it!!!! Cooked it for the family they went crazy over it. Try it with a homemade caramel sauce it is so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have been using this recipe for well over a year now, and can NOT believe it only has 4 stars! Its an easy, simple cake to make and tastes better than any white cake I've ever had before. Yes- definitely like a sugar cookie turned cake, for sure. Great stuff. I use it in the summertime and top it with fresh berries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Mae Bliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Best White Cake I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
LOVE this recipe. However, I only get 8 cupcakes max from these ingredients when I make cupcakes. I like making big cupcakes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Swinemar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States