Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
It was easier and faster to prepare this myself than to run up to the store to buy it!! I made it in less than 4 or 5 minutes. Also, since it's equal parts of sugar and water, it's easy to remember for future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I use this syrup to brush on cake layers for extra moisture. I just flavor it to taste with whatever - whiskey, vanilla, almond, liqueur - whatever! I store mine in the refrgerator since it seems to get modly if left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
651 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
This is really easy! just pour out as much as you plan on using, or else you get crumbs in it and have to throw the rest away. A great way to put moisture on your cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Thanks for clearing up the mystery, Shaggy! Now I'll save all kinds of money on something so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I made this...just for the heck of it and ended up using it in my iced tea. It's quick and easy to remember. I like the idea of brushing this between cake layers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Very easy to make. It lasts awhile in the fridge too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Nice and esay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I made this specifically for iced tea. My kids used to heap sugar by the wheelbarrow into their bitter iced tea. Now, with this, I can monitor how much sugar actually goes into the tea. I added a few drops of lemon juice, and it's great. Thanks for the recipe Shaggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
The secret is out!!!!! Great recipe to post! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I worked in a famous Italian Bakery visted by even movie stars and this was their now not so secret way of keeping their cakes fresh and moist! They made it by the gallons and added oranges cut in half during the boiling process. They also added amaretto licqure to it. They kept it in a bottle (wine or pop bottle will do) and sprinkled it on both the centre and top layers before icing. Just add a sprinkle to make it moist-don't soak it or you'll have a gross soggy cake. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States