Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I was recently at a restaurant and ordered iced coffee, it was served with Simple Syrup. It was nice not having to stir sugar to disolve granules. I made mine 1 part water and 2 parts sugar for cocktails, since ice was involved, which would water this syrup down. I stored in a glass jar for future use. In appreciatedreading all the reviews here for the many uses. I have also heard that freezing fresh whole fruit in this syrup stops freezer burn, and keeps color intact (ex. strawberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
So quick, so easy, and so affordable. I hate the grittyness that sugar can leave behind in cold drinks and simple syrup is the perfect remedy to that problem. I always knew it was easy to make but for some reason I had never tried it before now. With a 1-1 ratio of sugar to water, the ingredients are easy to remember as well! I added a half teaspoon of pure vanilla extract to a half batch of this syrup and used a teaspoon of it in my cold-brewed iced coffee. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Used "Sugar in the Raw" as a healthier alternative to refined white sugar. I used this to sweeten freshly squeezed grapefruit juice. Delish! I feel so silly that I didn't realize how easy it is to make this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very easy to make and it kept my cake extremely moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Made this for my Sapphire Collins drinks. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I use this base recipe for everything and it can be adjusted to fit lots of purposes. For margaritas I make this syrup and add lime juice to mix with tequila and triple sec. I add vanilla to this recipe to make syrup for iced coffee. >>>>>>ONE HINT>>>>>> It is easy to make this syrup as thick or as thin as you would llike. If you want it thin follow as written and turn it off after it starts to boil. If you want a thicker syrup just cook it longer lowering the heat a little bit after it starts to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Super easy and useful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Easy. Standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
My mother made simple syrup for pancakes when I was a kid at home, if we should run out of pancake syrup. Good for many uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
so simple to make and everything taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States