Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I have tried this and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamajan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
a French 75 in the making
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used a pyrex bowl in the mircowave, added 5 mint leaves and 3 tablespoons organic 100% lemon juice to it, for a great iced tea sweetener
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Awesome recipe, so very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Galpin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Thank you for posting this SIMPLE recipe!! I (and I assume a few more people) don't know all of the very basics, and it helps to LITERALLY have EVERYTHING I need in one app!! Thanks again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This works well. I've also made it with 1 part water to 2 parts sugar and used it with equal parts of lemon juice and then topped with water or soda to make perfect fresh lemonade. I was taught to put a pinch of salt in with the sugar. It helps pull up the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I find it incredibly annoying when ignorant people down-rate a recipe just because of their lack of knowledge or experience. This is called "simple syrup" for a reason, it is supposed to be ultra sweet ... it is basically liquid sugar. If it is too sweet for your recipe ... USE A BIT LESS (don't shoot the messenger dummy)! This recipe is the BOMB, and really comes in handy. 1 tsp. (this) simple syrup = 1 tsp. sugar, period. Store it in the fridge (well-sealed) and it will keep for months. My only suggestion is that you use purified or filtered water and high-quality sugar (the clearer the result, the better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBresnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Used this for the bar. Terrific for my adult beverages. I cannot wait to try this for cakes as the Most Helpful Reviews suggest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I tried this for our mint juleps and found in cloyingly sweet. Any ideas on how I can use the extra?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Worked PERFECTLY! I made two batches... a plain white sugar syrup, and another with turbinado sugar (Sugar in the Raw). I poured the turbinado syrup over crushed mint leaves. I'll let it steep 24 hours before straining out the leaves and discarding them. Gorgeous dark mint syrup, right on time for Derby Day! I can offer my guests a mint julep... OR a mojito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States