Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Margeux
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Not only was this recipe EASY, it produced TASTY scones!! I added more dried cranberries (because I love them) and orange zest than the recipe called for, but the orange flavor was still too subtle for my liking. Next time, I'll add even more zest :) I also made some other minor adjustments: I substituted baking margarine for butter and plain greek yogurt for sour cream; I painted the tops with melted (real) butter and sprinkled with corse raw sugar before baking. The best part of this recipe (other than it being so easy)... the scones are not too sweet, but rather quite perfect! Definitely adding this to my baking arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margeux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I love this recipe . They're moist and turn out perfect every time .. Although I did change a couple things . I usually add blueberries not dried fruit . I double the sugar and I add 2 tsp of cinnamon to compliment the Blueberries. I also use frozen Margarine . Family and friends ask for them over and over . I hope u enjoy them as we all do .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kt
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My first attempt at scones. I added blueberry Craisins instead of raisins and some vanilla and almond flavoring. This recipe is a keeper. I used my Kitchen Aide like others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Just made these. They are delicious! These are cake-like, not your typical scones. I left the raisins out and added 1 cup blueberries (stir these in last) and the zest of 1 lemon to the batter. I don't have a food processor so cut the cold butter into small cubes and cut it into the dry ingredients with a pastry blender. After the scones cooled I drizzled glaze on them (lemon juice, 10x sugar, unsalted butter, lemon zest). I will make them again, trying other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I substituted chocolate chips for the raisins. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made the blueberry lemon recipe and it was very simple and very yummy!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
They were very tasty!! It was my first time making scones. I used dark chelate chips in a few and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Fantastic! Followed recipe exactly (only changed raisins to crasins;-) Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
We added 1 tsp of cinnamon. Nice and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States