Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was impressed that the first time I made them they came out great... follow the recipe and you can't go wrong. suggestion: just be sure your bowl is big enough to mix the dry ingredients with the wet ones ... need room for your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Super Terrific Recipe and I used a Gluten Free flour mix!!! Substituting these flours can yield mixed results but these were great. I used my dough hook to help mix, since I don't have a food processor. I also added a few raspberries, since I love them. For those of us with celiac disease or others who cannot tolerate gluten finding a recipe that adapts well is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Sautéed sliced apples, fine chopped walnuts and raisins with butter and cinnamon and a little brown sugar. Let it cool while I made the dough, then added it to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Delicious!!! Possibly the best I've ever had! I made the cranberry orange and added a bit of coconut and decreased the sugar. I also used spelt flour instead of all purpose, otherwise followed the recipe as is. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Moist, delicious and easy to make! I lived in Ireland for two years and this is the first recipe I'Ve found that compares to the scones I had in While there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time this morning and they turned out wonderfully! I like the fact that they are not too sweet. I added the dried cranberries and orange zest and the flavour was wonderful! I can't wait to try other versions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
We use this recipe a lot. Very easy and very good scones! We make them with different kinds of ingredients, but our favorite is with barberries, a little tart berry that comes from Iran. They can be found in a lot of middle eastern or Persian markets. The are sometimes known as zereshk, their Persian name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danley Shackelford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is my go to recipe for scones. Everybody who has tried them loves them and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I had volunteered to make 24 scones for a church function for this morning that started at 9 am. So, last night I made three batches of scones, a low fat recipe from a book I have here, and I burned two batches. The third, I watched very carefully and pulled them out of the oven at the right time, but they were dry and tasteless. I decided I would get up early and make some muffins, instead, even though I had promised scones. So, this morning I got up at 7 am and found this recipe and how many people tried it, so I decided to bite the bullet and try this one. I made two batches, cutting each batch into 10 pieces instead of 8, and carefully watched them as they baked. They looked nice coming out of the oven. (I didn't have enough dried cranberries left to put in both batches, so I put chopped walnuts in one and combined the chopped walnuts and the rest of the cranberries for the other batch). To my and my husband's delight they tasted good right out of the oven. But, I thought, the real test would be what they tasted like after they cooled and even hours later when they were very cooled. I took my 19 scones to the church function (my hubby and I shared one to taste) and while the program was running, one of the ladies from the kitchen came up behind me and said they were the best scones she had ever eaten and wanted the recipe. I guess I will be making these again for church functions and home, too. Thanks for the excellent recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I love to bake and decided to try something new, which is exactly how I stumbled upon this recipe. I've made it twice in the last two days--first time with vanilla and orange and the second batch were cranberry/ lemon with white chocolate. Very easy to make, and mixing up what you out in them is half the fun. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Ulsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States