Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Meena
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Tastes amazing. And made shapes for the kids too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent basic scone recipe. It was my first time making scones but they came out really well and my family loved them. I used cold salted butter so i ommited the salt and used coconut milk instead of sour cream. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Love it. Took less than 10 mins in prep time and they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Followed the tips of others and made this recipe in the food processor. These scones are delicious! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I make these all the time! My office staff loves them. Easiest recipe ever! I use blueberries instead of currents. They come out so moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Just out of the over the cranberry and lemon scones. I put a little extra sugar in and used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I also brushed the top with buttermilk that I had and sprinkled the with sugar before they went into the oven. Also I soaked the fruit in hot water first to plump it up and drained.Had to use a little extra flour then as it was too moist. I cooked it at 350 for about 18 mins. Very delicious!!! I have others in the oven that I followed the recipe a little more closely but did use buttermilk instead of the sour cream. I'll let you know how that is. Kids love them... with butter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
i reduced the flour to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/2 cup quick cooking oats. i also cut back on the sugar and added 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips to the dry mixture. i substituted plain greek yogurt for the sour cream and added a little milk and a little vanilla extract. they turned out very well! although grating the butter early in the morning does seem to be time consuming, i'll definitely use this recipe again. if i had a food processor for this size recipe, i would definitely go that route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Wonderful. These came out perfectly! I am a huge scone fan, but had never made them myself before this. I added cherry juice infused craisins and white chocolate pieces in lieu of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami-Lynn
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I used the food processor method. So easy and these were SO GOOD! I ate two! I used craisins and grated orange rind. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This recipe is easy & very tasty. I just used it make pumpkin scones with butterscotch & white choc chips. I forgot the egg without it effecting the outcome. But the pumpkin & sour cream totaled 3/4c so I added quite a bit of flour & chips on the board. Made glaze with 10x, pumpkin pie coffee creamer & almond extract. Got 24 scones. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States