Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made scones many times but this is my favorite recipe so far! I made orange cranberry and they came out moist....I also put a vanilla glaze with confectionary sugar,vanilla, and milk which put a little sweeter touch to it...making it like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I really like this recipe and it so easy to change it to which ever kind you like. My guests all liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
We liked these a lot and I didn't even have frozen butter. I just used what was in the fridge. No food processor either, really? Just mix all the dry ingredients by hand and stir in your wet ones. I, also, added a teaspoon of vanilla for a fuller flavor. The texture was amazing and I've tried a few scone recipes; some use heavy cream, others milk or yogurt, but this is the first one I've tried with sour cream. Makes a vey moist scone, not dry and crumbly. Also, you can brush the tops of the scones with melted butter or milk before baking. A drizzle of icing is also nice on the cooled scones. Put anything in them that you enjoy in your muffins, I used chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Yes, I've made this recipe time and time again. I do like adding the cranberries and orange zest for a great flavor. I also frosted them with a simple frosting with orange juice added as the liquid, and that gave them even more great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaitlynn.C
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Really good! I have to say they were some of the best scones I ever had. But using a food processor makes the job a lot easier. And I had ran out of all-propose flour so I used a little bit of whole wheat and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Semichee
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These are definitely better than what you buy at bakeries but I was a bit disappointed as they are on the dry side. I baked them for 16 minutes and the bottoms were brown while the tops were still pale. I broiled them for another minute to get the tops golden. Maybe 400F is too hot for my oven? I wish they were a bit more moist but the flavor itself is very good. I might give them another go but lower the baking temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great! added chopped dates instead of raisins in first batch, then chopped dates and chocolate chips in second batch Both were very good These were my first time trying to make scones and will be making them again. Also the grated frozen butter was ingenious!!Will be using that trick every time I need to make crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Peiffer
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great and easy recipe. Yes using your food processor makes its incredible easy and quick. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was impressed that the first time I made them they came out great... follow the recipe and you can't go wrong. suggestion: just be sure your bowl is big enough to mix the dry ingredients with the wet ones ... need room for your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Super Terrific Recipe and I used a Gluten Free flour mix!!! Substituting these flours can yield mixed results but these were great. I used my dough hook to help mix, since I don't have a food processor. I also added a few raspberries, since I love them. For those of us with celiac disease or others who cannot tolerate gluten finding a recipe that adapts well is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States