Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delicious!! I also used a food processor; way easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Jane Byle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great recipe! I used elderberries in place of raisins and plain yogurt in place of sour cream... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Della La-la Bella
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Wow these are yummy :) my first time making scones and they turned out really moist. I used fresh blueberries. I didn't use a food processor like everyone else did. from what I read from other reviews. I have a theory make recipes the way they're supposed to. will recommend these to my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della La-la Bella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
hooked on these! can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I made these yesterday. We have a scone place near where I work and I occasionally go there and get one to have with my coffee. They have a chocolate orange scone so when I seen this recipe I thought now I can try and make my own. I followed the recipe except I put chocolate chips in instead of raisins and added approx. 1 tsp orange zest. Well I won't have to go to the scone bakery now as these tasted just as good, if not better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nr3
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These scones were delicious and the recipe was very easy to follow.I grated the butter in which was pretty much effortless. The only measurement I changed is that I added 1 cup of raisins rather than the 1/2 cup from the recipe because we like raisins in our household. I set the oven timer to 15 minutes initially then I checked it and they were slightly too moist so I added another minute. Then I switched the oven off completely and let the scones stay in the oven for another minute. I had never made scones before and these exceeded my expectations and were certainly much better than those I would usually purchase. I will definitely be making these again and the variations from the footnotes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Just delicious. My family said these were so much better than my old recipe! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the raisin scone. Everything else just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made the almond cherry scones, they turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Kao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Can greek yogurt be substituted for sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by helenpress
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
So good - cut butter in (do not use mixer) so the scones remain dense and flakey. I added almond extract and dried cranberries? They were delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States