Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
i make them so often and each time i change the flavoring...the best is grated orange zest with raisins....than there is always almond ..and oh well, now its time for scones and coffee...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Gregory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
i followed the suggestions to use my food processor, and it couldnt have been easier! i did not freeze the butter, just took from the fridge and it was fine. also, i didnt have sour cream, i had buttermilk so used that and worked just as well. i didnt use flour on the counter, i used a plastic mat, and it was just fine. love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBABIEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Super! Easy to make. I used dried cranberries & everyone loved them. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I found them absolutely delicious, and I even made them without a food processor. They were not dry or too moist, the only thing I changed was I added equal parts raisins and craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I made this recipe for some friends with one modification: I used a heavy cream-milk-lemon juice mixture to substitute for sour cream, because I did not have any on-hand. I divided the batter in half, reulting in two batches: orange-chocolate chip and strawberries and cream scones. For the strawberries and cream version, I used food-processor-minced frozen strawberries. Because the strawberries were frozen, the yielded scones were more moist (something like a scone-cake hybrid), which I topped with a milk-powdered sugar glaze drizzle. The orange-chocolate chip scones (made with orange zest) maintained the typical consistency and texture of a scone (i.e. slightly dry), which would go well with tea. All in all, they came out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I add the zest of one lemon to the sour cream mixture and use frozen blueberries as my fruit. I cook the round for most of the time and then cut it into triangles and continue cooking so that it is moist and the middle gets cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kittycormier
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I love these! The only thing I change is adding a little bit of cinnamon and a few more raisins. They always come out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I used the zest from a whole orange and lots of Craisins- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yangyangpan
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I used dried cranberry to make the scones. The turn out was great, crunchy on the onside and moist inside. The only challenge I had was to grate the butter in this summer weather. butter melts too fast, making it hard to grasp and grate. in the end I simply used a fork to cut small pieces of butter into the mixture, and followed it with hand mix. I like the simplicity of this recipe. I will try tune the taste with other mixtures (onion & salt, nuts etc) later. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Loved these! I made them in my food processor, and then added blueberries instead of raisins. I finished them with a drizzle of powdered sugar glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States