Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Excellent! I made a much larger quantity which I divided up and froze for quick use. I also used a little more sour cream and no eggs. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe is so easy and makes a great base for other flavors as well. I have made cheese scones and blueberry scones with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzy
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
What a simple recipe for scones! The scones turned out very delicious my whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Made the cranberry/orange version, aside from not being able to zest my orange on a cheese grater, this was wonderful. I managed to get about 1/4 of the orange zested with a vegetable peeler, minced the peel with a knife, and then added it to the mix. I then juiced the orange, added a couple of teaspoons of sugar to the juice, and then drizzled that over the scones. I had no idea scones were this easy. Many commercial scones are far too sweet, these were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We really liked the cranberry-orange scones. They were great! I used the food processor and it was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy Kay Thomas
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I make this recipe all the time. I alternate between using creme fraiche for the sour cream. I love the richness it adds. Also I change raisins for other things often balancing liquids for fruits. They are always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kay Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was my first time making scones and it was much easier than I expected. I used frozen cherries that I pitted the night before and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I will definitely use this recipe over and over again. Can't wait to try more variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were okay. I have only made a couple of other types of scones in my life and they were way more flaky like and rich tasting. These were more like a slightly cakey overly-sweet biscuit. The tops of them appeared more bumpy than smooth to for some reason. I suppose, because of the stickiness of the dough. I think heavy cream, instead of sour cream, is the only way to go with scones. Only change I made was using golden raisins instead of regular. I just like their flavor lately. For some reason mine darkened on the bottom rather quickly despite baking on parchment. They went from underdone to overdone, on the bottom, in only about 2 minutes time. Towards the end I would keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These were delicious!!! They were super easy to make! It was fun coming up with flavor ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I thought this recipe is awesome. I added some cinnamon to the blueberry lemon version and it made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted Carr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States