Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great tips on this recipe. They turn out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great recipe. I have used orange zest and chunks of chocolate in it. That's A really good dessert scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I really, really enjoyed this recipe! My boyfriend loves the scones and keeps asking me to make more. I didn't change anything in the recipe except the add-ins. The firs time I used raisins and the second time I tried raspberries. This recipe is awesome. I will keep using it-next time I'm adding butterscotch! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Wonderful and easy. My husband ate 3. I substituted dried cherries for the raisins. Did not use almond extract. I will make these for company next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mo
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are quite good. I eschewed both the cheese grater AND the food processor and instead used a pastry cutter to cut the cold butter pieces into the flour mixture. Quick, easy to do this way. I added chocolate chips (instead of raisins) for my husband, who loves chocolate chip scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spenney
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
First time making scones. I used refrigerated salted butter (was all I had at the moment) and I used 1/2 sugar instead and added raspberries and white chocolate. They were absolutely yummy! They were gone within hours of making them. I'm making more today, ham and cheddar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spenney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was absolutely amazing! It was moist and biscuit like just like how a scone should be! I put dried cranberries and 1 tbs of orange zest and they were DELICIOUS. Better than I expected. My family absolutely adored them. Needless to say, I will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
3.5 stars. Batter was easy to handle; ingredient measurements worked perfectly. Texture was easily 5 stars. My disappointment was the lack of flavor. I rarely eat sweets, so I was surprised the sugar & salt didn't provide enough tastiness. Maybe that could be had with some vanilla, almond extract, or orange rind. Truth be told, I was a little embarrassed to serve them they were so bland. My guest liked them but recommended I add some vanilla to the batter if I bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I am not a person fond of baking. The times I bakes something have not been more than 10 (considering that I am at the age of 36, this is quite few :) ). I fell in love with scones when I tried them in Starbucks and whenever I like eating scones, I go there. Finally, I promised myself to try making them at home. This was the recipe I used; I followed the measurements as they are, but I was running out of sour cream, so I put 1/4 sour cream, 1/4 yoghurt. The dough came out a little sticky, but it did not effect the outcome. The scones were just like those that I ate in Starbucks. The recipe is so easy, and simple. I replaces raisins with cranberries, and added grated almonds. No need to have a mixer; and even I was able to make it with my own hands, and in 35 minutes including the baking time. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have tried this recipes twice, and both have the same consistency… My whole family like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States