Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My neighbor made these and they were awesome! i asked her for the recipe and was amazed at how easy these were to make. i followed the reviews and used a food processor. WOW! i don't even bake and these were perfect! i did cut them smalled (pretty much did 16 slices instead of 8) and i only baked them for 10 minutes. PERFECTION!!!!! i also did a glaze on top and loved them. tried the blueberry lemon and cranberry orange....can't wait to try more combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
THESE ARE GOOD!MINE TURNED OUT A BIT CAKEY BUT VERY VERY MOIST! I ADDED A TSP OF ALMOND EXTRACT,DRIED CHERRIES AND SPRINKLES SOME SLICED ALMOND OVER THE TOP BEFORE BAKING! I MIGHT TRY A DIFFERENT RECIPE JUST TO COMPARE THE TEXTURE OVERALL A GOOD RECIPE....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Amazing scone recipe! My first time making it and I followed the recipe to the tee, except I used blueberries instead of raisins. I'm not typically a big baker, but I took other peoples' advice to use the food processor and they were right- it made a huge difference. Especially after you grate the butter, it did a nice job of mixing everything together well. Everything was perfectly blended in seconds, with just a few pulses. Delicious scones. Thx for all the tips! Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Incredible! These scones are moist have a wonderful buttery flavor. I have made this recipe at least 20-30 times, most of them by request from people who I've made it for before. It has gotten rave reviews every single time. In place of using a box grater for the butter, I cut butter straight from the refrigerator into the flour mix with a pastry knife. I don't find it to be too much work at all. Cranberry with orange zest is one of my favorites, but I can't wait to experiment more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
this is the best scone recipe Ive found. Next time I will double it so the scones come out a little larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Dan's new favorite scone recipe! He likes it even better than the grandma's scone recipe. I think it is a bit less cakey and less sweet. I like both scone recipes. We added raisins to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was hungry for a scone for breakfast today. I don't normally have sour cream on hand, so I replaced the 1/2 cup sour cream with 1/2 cup 2% milk and they came out Grrreat!!! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
these are so amazing! if i could give them more stars I would. I make the recipe exactly as is and they turn out perfectly every time. I usually make it just with raisins but i tried the cranberry orange flavour and it still was delicious! i can't wait to try other combinations with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Badash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made the orange/cranberry version this morning. They were delicious; slightly moist, light and flakey. I did add a little vanilla and some additional orange juice to the sour cream/egg mixture to total 3/4 cup of wet ingredients. I made a glaze of melted butter, orange juice and powdered sugar to spread on top. Husband just loved them. Can't go wrong with a Pam Anderson recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States