Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I loved this recipe, thank you for sharing and yes I grated frozen butter in a minute and it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
So easy, so tender and flaky! Mine didn't turn out very moist like some other people's but they were just what I expected (except flakier, yum!) and were delicious with some butter on them :) Made them within less than 40 minutes in food processor, and that includes clean-up time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I'm not really scone eating girl, but those ones made me crave more and more of them. And it is so easy to make additions and changes to the recipe to creat new flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I cut the butter into a 1/2" cubes before freezing them. I mixed the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and butter cubes in a food processor. I used butter milk instead of sour cream. The results were amazing! Very simple yet versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masami Suga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I use this recipe as my base and then add fruit, nuts, flavors,... Because they are such a hit I pre-shred frozen butter a pound at a time, bagging each stick separately and storing in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaLeah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These can be made ahead to free up your time on the day of a big party! I baked these, froze them, and warmed them in a 350 degree oven for a little less than 10 minutes the day of the big party. It worked beautifully! I *hate* to clean my food processor, so I took a chance: I substituted Butter Flavor Crisco for the butter, and mixed everything by hand with a pastry blender. The result? The most FANTASTIC scones I have ever made! I used to focus the attention on the add-ins rather than the scones, because I took it for granted the pastry would be dry and bland. Not these! The only variety I have made so far is several batches with Craisins and white chocolate chips. I can't wait to experiment with more flavors. This is one of the best things I have ever made, and I believe it's the recipe I have received the most requests for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
THIS IS A GREAT AND TOTALY EASY RECIPE. IF YOUR SCARED TO TRY SCONES, DO NOT BE. IT IS SO EASY IT WILL MAKE YOU WONDER WHY. TRY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT. SKIPER, ST. PETE FLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Thank you very much!! I've had many wonderful compliments from students, parents, co-workers, family and friends. This recipe allows for substitution easily: I used Splenda instead of sugar and blue berries instead of raisins for my second batch. I made a batch of holiday cut out scones for my mom's co-workers and they all complimented "her daughter baking skills". She was so proud!! Every one has asked for the recipe. I've been sending them all to allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrannyDestructo
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I didn't have any sour cream so I used the same amount of unsweetened Greek yogurt, through a cheese cloth for about 40 minutes. I also used about 1/4 cup of whole wheat to make myself believe they are a little more healthy. These babies are so freaking tasty, I'm glad the recipe is only eight scones, or I'd eat 20 in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Have used this recipe for a while now and never used a processor. It comes out great all the time. Pretty easy to make and my scones are a huge hit with all my friends. No additions ,no substitutions at all. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States