Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I use this recipe as my base and then add fruit, nuts, flavors,... Because they are such a hit I pre-shred frozen butter a pound at a time, bagging each stick separately and storing in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaLeah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
These can be made ahead to free up your time on the day of a big party! I baked these, froze them, and warmed them in a 350 degree oven for a little less than 10 minutes the day of the big party. It worked beautifully! I *hate* to clean my food processor, so I took a chance: I substituted Butter Flavor Crisco for the butter, and mixed everything by hand with a pastry blender. The result? The most FANTASTIC scones I have ever made! I used to focus the attention on the add-ins rather than the scones, because I took it for granted the pastry would be dry and bland. Not these! The only variety I have made so far is several batches with Craisins and white chocolate chips. I can't wait to experiment with more flavors. This is one of the best things I have ever made, and I believe it's the recipe I have received the most requests for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
THIS IS A GREAT AND TOTALY EASY RECIPE. IF YOUR SCARED TO TRY SCONES, DO NOT BE. IT IS SO EASY IT WILL MAKE YOU WONDER WHY. TRY IT YOU WILL LOVE IT. SKIPER, ST. PETE FLA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Thank you very much!! I've had many wonderful compliments from students, parents, co-workers, family and friends. This recipe allows for substitution easily: I used Splenda instead of sugar and blue berries instead of raisins for my second batch. I made a batch of holiday cut out scones for my mom's co-workers and they all complimented "her daughter baking skills". She was so proud!! Every one has asked for the recipe. I've been sending them all to allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrannyDestructo
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I didn't have any sour cream so I used the same amount of unsweetened Greek yogurt, through a cheese cloth for about 40 minutes. I also used about 1/4 cup of whole wheat to make myself believe they are a little more healthy. These babies are so freaking tasty, I'm glad the recipe is only eight scones, or I'd eat 20 in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Have used this recipe for a while now and never used a processor. It comes out great all the time. Pretty easy to make and my scones are a huge hit with all my friends. No additions ,no substitutions at all. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meena
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Tastes amazing. And made shapes for the kids too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Excellent basic scone recipe. It was my first time making scones but they came out really well and my family loved them. I used cold salted butter so i ommited the salt and used coconut milk instead of sour cream. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Love it. Took less than 10 mins in prep time and they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Followed the tips of others and made this recipe in the food processor. These scones are delicious! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States