Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TraciAnn
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Amazingly simple, delicious and takes no time at all..love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Lowers
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is the first time I have made scones and this recipe is awesome. I put dried blueberries and low sugar craisins in and added ( after all ingredients mixed so as not to get soggy) a handful of almond flakes. I used Splenda instead of sugar and yes I hand grated the butter. (food processor on my wish list) We served these with a few spritzes of spray butter and drizzled raspberry honey over them. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lowers

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERESA_C
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great basic recipe that accepts variations/additions nicely. Here's what I like to do with this wonderful recipe to make it my own...I dice the 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter before I get started and put it in the freezer to chill, I use brown sugar instead of white, use vanilla greek yogurt instead of sour cream, put a little jam on top before baking and after baking drizzle on a powdered sugar glaze. I use my food processor...pulse dry ingredients, add chilled butter and long pulse a few times, stir the egg and yogurt together in a bowl and add to food processor bowl, long pulses just until the dough starts to come together. Pour onto counter dusted with flour and pat together to form a ball and continue to press into a circle, 3/4" high. Cut like a pie into 8 wedges and transfer to a cookie sheet lined with parchment. Using floured fingers, I press a circular indentation into each wedge and fill with approx. 1/2 tsp of jam (any fruit jam will work with this recipe!). After cooling a bit on a wire rack, I drizzle some powdered sugar glaze on top (approx.1 cup powdered sugar, approx 1 Tbsp of softened butter, 1/4 tsp vanilla and a bit of whole milk, stirred together, add tiny amounts of milk until you get that drizzle-icious consistency). Pour the glaze into a ziplock baggie and snip a tiny bit of a corner off, then let the drizzle flow out of the corner as you move back and forth across each scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wonderful! We make these almost every Sunday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Really good, and consistent results. I used my Kitchenaid mixer, and just crumbed in frozen butter chunks. I stopped short of full crumb in the mixer, so I could finish mixing by hand. I am not an experienced baker, and have had numerous, er, failures... But not here! I have made these three times, all with great success. I prefer a smaller portioned scone, so I divide the dough into two balls, then cut out mini wedges. Cook time is a bit shorter, maybe a minute or so. Hubby wanted to know where I got them...he says they are better than the ones I normally get at the bakery! Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
These are so delicious. I have made this recipe so many times with so many different flavour variations. The only thing I would change is that there is really no need to grate the butter. I found this to be a huge pain the first time I tried this recipe. After that first time, I have been melting the butter instead. I find it turns out the same way and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My father-in-law refused to believe that I didn't buy these, they were so good. I've made them twice-- once with chocolate chips and once with raisins. Both were fantastic! I added extra sugar inside and on top, though, but only because we're all sugar addicts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Easy delicious and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
The best scone recipe i have ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
The best scones I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States