Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have been making this exact recipe for years. It's my favorite go to scone recipe and I add all kinds of things. The sour cream makes it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ole_dutka
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I just made it, it's perfect! Super easy. I made it without the raisins but topped it with a cream I made (just mixed sour cream, sugar, and whipped cream cheese), and topped that with strawberry jam. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Every time I have made these they have been a complete hit!! A very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TraciAnn
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Amazingly simple, delicious and takes no time at all..love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Lowers
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is the first time I have made scones and this recipe is awesome. I put dried blueberries and low sugar craisins in and added ( after all ingredients mixed so as not to get soggy) a handful of almond flakes. I used Splenda instead of sugar and yes I hand grated the butter. (food processor on my wish list) We served these with a few spritzes of spray butter and drizzled raspberry honey over them. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lowers

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TERESA_C
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great basic recipe that accepts variations/additions nicely. Here's what I like to do with this wonderful recipe to make it my own...I dice the 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter before I get started and put it in the freezer to chill, I use brown sugar instead of white, use vanilla greek yogurt instead of sour cream, put a little jam on top before baking and after baking drizzle on a powdered sugar glaze. I use my food processor...pulse dry ingredients, add chilled butter and long pulse a few times, stir the egg and yogurt together in a bowl and add to food processor bowl, long pulses just until the dough starts to come together. Pour onto counter dusted with flour and pat together to form a ball and continue to press into a circle, 3/4" high. Cut like a pie into 8 wedges and transfer to a cookie sheet lined with parchment. Using floured fingers, I press a circular indentation into each wedge and fill with approx. 1/2 tsp of jam (any fruit jam will work with this recipe!). After cooling a bit on a wire rack, I drizzle some powdered sugar glaze on top (approx.1 cup powdered sugar, approx 1 Tbsp of softened butter, 1/4 tsp vanilla and a bit of whole milk, stirred together, add tiny amounts of milk until you get that drizzle-icious consistency). Pour the glaze into a ziplock baggie and snip a tiny bit of a corner off, then let the drizzle flow out of the corner as you move back and forth across each scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wonderful! We make these almost every Sunday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Really good, and consistent results. I used my Kitchenaid mixer, and just crumbed in frozen butter chunks. I stopped short of full crumb in the mixer, so I could finish mixing by hand. I am not an experienced baker, and have had numerous, er, failures... But not here! I have made these three times, all with great success. I prefer a smaller portioned scone, so I divide the dough into two balls, then cut out mini wedges. Cook time is a bit shorter, maybe a minute or so. Hubby wanted to know where I got them...he says they are better than the ones I normally get at the bakery! Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
These are so delicious. I have made this recipe so many times with so many different flavour variations. The only thing I would change is that there is really no need to grate the butter. I found this to be a huge pain the first time I tried this recipe. After that first time, I have been melting the butter instead. I find it turns out the same way and tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My father-in-law refused to believe that I didn't buy these, they were so good. I've made them twice-- once with chocolate chips and once with raisins. Both were fantastic! I added extra sugar inside and on top, though, but only because we're all sugar addicts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States