Simple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is the perfect go to recipe....it is so simple and fast...great for a basic to go to because you can leave it as is...or adventure out ...add different ingredients and flavors ...moist, light and not dry like a brick! lol....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is the best scones I've ever made and ever ate! It's so much fun to make and it's a great recipe to make with kids. It's a great item for a good afternoon tea or whenever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Tried this recipe and was very pleased. Changed just a bit, used dried blueberries. and drizzled with a lemon glaze. Just wonderful thanks. will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I added some frozen raspberries and substituted Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I tried this recipe and was surprised at how easy it was. I am not a baker but love scones. I used dried blueberries and added a little vanilla extract. I think I would add a little more sugar or substitute Brown sugar next time. I let my butter get to room temperature then added to the flour mixture. (No problem without the grated frozen way) These were really good and had a moisteness I liked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
For some reason, scones have always intimidated me. They stalked me in the hallway of "Things You Haven't Baked Yet", until this recipe. A great basic, I added a splash of almond in with the vanilla extract, swapped the raisins with craisins and added a hint of dried orange peel. Delicious! Can't wait to try them with other flavors. Also a pizza cutter dipped in flour is a great way to cut the dough into the well-known triangle shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made scones many times but this is my favorite recipe so far! I made orange cranberry and they came out moist....I also put a vanilla glaze with confectionary sugar,vanilla, and milk which put a little sweeter touch to it...making it like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I really like this recipe and it so easy to change it to which ever kind you like. My guests all liked it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
We liked these a lot and I didn't even have frozen butter. I just used what was in the fridge. No food processor either, really? Just mix all the dry ingredients by hand and stir in your wet ones. I, also, added a teaspoon of vanilla for a fuller flavor. The texture was amazing and I've tried a few scone recipes; some use heavy cream, others milk or yogurt, but this is the first one I've tried with sour cream. Makes a vey moist scone, not dry and crumbly. Also, you can brush the tops of the scones with melted butter or milk before baking. A drizzle of icing is also nice on the cooled scones. Put anything in them that you enjoy in your muffins, I used chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Yes, I've made this recipe time and time again. I do like adding the cranberries and orange zest for a great flavor. I also frosted them with a simple frosting with orange juice added as the liquid, and that gave them even more great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States