Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It was pretty good. I was able to use the dough for both the top and bottom layers on my apple pie. It did sink a little to the bottom, as other reviewers have stated. It also crumbled when serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This crust is flaky and not too sweet. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I used this crust recipe to make the Bake Sale Lemon Bars on this site. Loved it! As I said in that review, if you're using this crust in a 9x13 pan, use an angled cake frosting knife to spread it. Makes it way easier. Although I'm not a pie maker, I'm sure this would be great! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I added chopped pecans to the dough. Very good! This made a great for the double layer pumpkin cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This crust was really good. I'm going to use it whenever I make any pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGREEN6755

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dolton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was great! It fit perfectly with a cheesecake I was baking. Thanks! Btw, I substituted the sugar, with a full cup of brown sugar. It was good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipes is tasty BUT it doesn't stick to the sides of the pie pan. When cooking, all of the dough ends up at the bottom and very thick. It would be great for "bars" but not for a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Yummy! Follwed the directions exactly and the crust came out perfectly. It didn't stick to my pie plate and didn't crumble when I cut the pie into pieces. I used this recipe when making the "Strawberry Shortbread Pie" recipe from this site. They are a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I love this recipe (we love shortbread!) and can see myself using it for many pies that had the traditional crust. Seems like the right "fit" with fruit pies. I made a strawberry pie from this site and it was out of this world with this crust! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This crust was great with a coconut cream pie. I will definitely use this crust again. Although, the recipe did make more than enough crust, even for a deep dish 9". It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States