Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I used this crust recipe to make the Bake Sale Lemon Bars on this site. Loved it! As I said in that review, if you're using this crust in a 9x13 pan, use an angled cake frosting knife to spread it. Makes it way easier. Although I'm not a pie maker, I'm sure this would be great! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I added chopped pecans to the dough. Very good! This made a great for the double layer pumpkin cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This crust was really good. I'm going to use it whenever I make any pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGREEN6755

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dolton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was great! It fit perfectly with a cheesecake I was baking. Thanks! Btw, I substituted the sugar, with a full cup of brown sugar. It was good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This recipes is tasty BUT it doesn't stick to the sides of the pie pan. When cooking, all of the dough ends up at the bottom and very thick. It would be great for "bars" but not for a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Yummy! Follwed the directions exactly and the crust came out perfectly. It didn't stick to my pie plate and didn't crumble when I cut the pie into pieces. I used this recipe when making the "Strawberry Shortbread Pie" recipe from this site. They are a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I love this recipe (we love shortbread!) and can see myself using it for many pies that had the traditional crust. Seems like the right "fit" with fruit pies. I made a strawberry pie from this site and it was out of this world with this crust! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
This crust was great with a coconut cream pie. I will definitely use this crust again. Although, the recipe did make more than enough crust, even for a deep dish 9". It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ditty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
This crust tasted great! I made it for a coconut cream pie for my husband and it was a delicious combination. It didn't really hold up very well when serving though, and fell apart. If you don't care about taking a slice of pie out of the pan in pieces, then I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Very tasty. My supermarket doesn't carry the premade shortbread crusts anymore so I thought I'd try this one. I also added a capful of vanilla to the batter and refrigerated the pie crust for about 1/2 hour prior to baking. I found baking time is more like 15-20 minutes. This crust is great with strawberry pie recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States