Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I easily got two pies out of this recipe, as I used a crumb topping on each. The butter I cut down just slightly, and it was still fantastic. I even made this in a square pan, for shortbread cookie bars. I have heard it said that the simpler the better, and this is so true! Why buy packaged crust or cookies filled with unpronouncable ingredients when you can whip this up in no time?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was really good and easy to make. The dough came out very soft, making it easy to shape in the pie plate. Once baked, it was super flaky and just came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is my go to shortbread recipe. I bake mine in a springform pan so it comes out cleanly. I have also baked it on sheet pans when I do a double recipe. I make a great dessert that layers crumbled shortbread, vanilla pudding, fresh berried and whipped cream. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This tasted wonderful! It fits perfectly pressed into a 9x13 pan, and still delivers a think crust. It was very easy to press into the pan and I made sure I poked a few holes in with a fork to stop it from rising up too much and it worked perfectly. I made this with fresh strawberry pie. Just delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
very tasty and super simple. I am adding this one to the ole recipe box. I didn't make any changes or substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe provides more dough than will fit into a 9-in pie plate. It would probably work better in a 9x13. I had to cook 7 minutes longer than indicated to get it done & a couple of times had to take it out of the oven to pat down & reshape the rising dough so it would leave room in the dish for my pie filling. It was worth the effort though & went nicely with my key lime pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It was pretty good. I was able to use the dough for both the top and bottom layers on my apple pie. It did sink a little to the bottom, as other reviewers have stated. It also crumbled when serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This crust is flaky and not too sweet. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I used this crust recipe to make the Bake Sale Lemon Bars on this site. Loved it! As I said in that review, if you're using this crust in a 9x13 pan, use an angled cake frosting knife to spread it. Makes it way easier. Although I'm not a pie maker, I'm sure this would be great! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I added chopped pecans to the dough. Very good! This made a great for the double layer pumpkin cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States