Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a tasty treat. The only problem I had was the coconut. A lot of it flaked off when I did as directed and put it on the top. I heard from fellow bakers that the best way to do these is to put the milk over the coconut. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to the butter on the bottom. I definitely recommend using parchment paper to line the baking dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Oh my Lord, DELICIOUS!!! And the recipe couldn't be any easier. I followed it to the letter and couldn't have been more please with the results. Buttery, gooey, chewy, and wonderful. I toyed with the idea of leaving out the nuts, as I'm not a huge fan, but I really think they were necessary to cut the sweetness of the bars. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these last year and everyone loved them. The only thing that I changed is I put parchment paper on the pan for easy removal. These are sticky goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
absurdly good... enough said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I did something different. I crushed choc graham crackers to 1 3/4 cups. Then I used 1 cup milk choc chips, 1 1/2 mixed choc and mint chips. I did not use butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Halved the butter and used almonds instead of walnuts. Quick, delish dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars but for the directions. Put the butter in your pan and put the pan in the oven while it's heating to melt. Pour the graham cracker crumbs into the pan, but mix the butter and crumbs together and pat down, or use a small roller. I use one 12 oz bag of chips, then the coconut, then the nuts. I pour the condensed milk over it all. My husbands favorite combination is butterscotch chips and slivered almonds. It's always a hit when I take them to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
LOVE these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Kids love making these bars! They are just like the bars my grandmother used to make! Mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
very good. very sweet. of course you would already expect that with seven layer bars. i took the advise and mixed my cracker crumbs with the butter and pressed into a well greased glass pan, and put half the condensed milk on the crumb base, and the other half on the top before topping with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States