Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These bars are what I would call evil! Made them over the holidays and we all fought over who would get to eat the last one. Very easy to make and well worth the little amount of time it took to assemble. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Super Easy, Amazing rich lil' bars.. Yum..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WUVIE
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
There was a time one could find a kit in the baking aisle to make Seven Layer Bars. With such a simple recipe, no kit is needed! A very forgiving recipe when it comes to the chips. Use any 2 cup combination of chocolate chips, vanilla chips, butterscotch chips, even toffee bits. Parchment paper goes a long way, as does the suggestion to pour the condensed milk on top of it all. I layered all of the ingredients except 1/3 cup of the coconut, which I sprinkled on top of it all, giving the top a beautiful toasted look. Another vote for allowing it to cool before cutting. Sweet and rich, albeit a consistent hit. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WUVIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hulbert, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is my favorite version of these bars.Since the coconut goes on last, it browns nicely. I have had other versions that were too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a tasty treat. The only problem I had was the coconut. A lot of it flaked off when I did as directed and put it on the top. I heard from fellow bakers that the best way to do these is to put the milk over the coconut. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon vanilla to the butter on the bottom. I definitely recommend using parchment paper to line the baking dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Oh my Lord, DELICIOUS!!! And the recipe couldn't be any easier. I followed it to the letter and couldn't have been more please with the results. Buttery, gooey, chewy, and wonderful. I toyed with the idea of leaving out the nuts, as I'm not a huge fan, but I really think they were necessary to cut the sweetness of the bars. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made these last year and everyone loved them. The only thing that I changed is I put parchment paper on the pan for easy removal. These are sticky goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
absurdly good... enough said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I did something different. I crushed choc graham crackers to 1 3/4 cups. Then I used 1 cup milk choc chips, 1 1/2 mixed choc and mint chips. I did not use butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Halved the butter and used almonds instead of walnuts. Quick, delish dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States