Seven Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These bars are sooo delish! I used all the listed ingredients with the exception of walnuts, replacing them with pecans because that was all I had on hand. I used part of the butter to coat the pan, then melted the rest of the amount called for and a little extra. I also added extra graham cracker crumbs and mixed the melted butter in with them. I pressed the mixture into the bottom of the pan with the back of a spoon to create more of a crust. I followed all of the other directions as listed and the result was amazing! I think the graham cracker crust really added something extra because it had a great buttery taste and it seemed to help hold everything together nicely. I will definitely be making these again very soon! Next time I will try it with walnuts, but the pecans were very scrumptious! My kids and I thank you very much for sharing this sweet treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherm77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Crazy sounding review maybe -- I don't like these bars -- but I make them for others who really love them. If you do not like sweet cookies then stay away from these. Like other reviewers I melt butter and mix with crumbs before pressing in to pan. Oldie but goodie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I added heath bits and marshmallows so that they were actually 7 layers. It was very sweet. They were very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My family loves these bars. We are a nut free family so i sub broken up pretzels for the nuts. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These are so rich and decadent. I just melted the butter in the microwave in a bowl and mixed in the graham cracker crumbs (which I crushed in a ziplock bag using a can of beans) then pressed it down on the bottom of the baking dish. Next time, I would try baking just the crust for about 5 minutes before adding the rest of the toppings, because the crust came out a little soggy and not as solid as I would like. I didn't have butterscotch chips so I used 1 1/2 cups choc chips. I also didn't have walnuts (although I'm sure it would have been wonderful with them) I had to use sliced almonds, and used about 3/4 cup. Mine were done in about 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good heavens! I can NOT believe how good these are. I mean, they are really, really, REALLY good! These are a must try! I halved this recipe only because I had half a can of sweetened condensed milk I needed to use up (which is what prompted the search that lead me to this heavenly recipe in the first place). I ended up adding pecans instead of walnuts because I accidentally grabbed them out of the freezer and was halfway through chopping them before I realized my mistake. Finally, I had some homemade marshmallows, and I figured one more layer wouldn't hurt, so I put them on top of the coconut. This baked in about 15 minutes, since I had halved it and baked in a smaller pan. I noticed that some reviewers had problems with these setting up. I have not given them a chance to set up yet, as I have eaten two bars since it came out of the oven 5 minutes ago. I will try sticking them in the fridge to see if they firm up, but honestly, I could care less if they do. So insanely yummy, warm and gooey from straight from the oven (and actually, they held up pretty well, so I am sure letting them cool will make them into perfect bars.) Thanks for sharing the recipe Mrs. Tindall. These are going in my goody baskets this holiday season, if they don't all go in my face first!!! ***UPDATE*** I did put these in the fridge, and they did set up into lovely bars, AND they are even better cold! Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
New family favorite !!! Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Fantabulous! Followed the recipe exactly...Don't mess with perfection. This is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These are great! I have made this recipe several times and get requests for these bars often. My friends say they even taste better than the local bakery's version. I do use salted butter instead of unsalted and that works fine. This is a definite go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Oh lord, these are to DIE for. DO NOT MAKE if you are on any kind of diet. I have some nut haters in my family, so we eliminated that layer, but this is still probably my favorite dessert ever. Easy, tasty, and awesome. Also, we line the pan with tin foil and spray it for easy removal and cutting of the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States