Sesame-Soy Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used fresh organic broccoli, less sodium soy sauce and brown sugar (for a deeper flavor). This was good but next time, I'd use sesame oil instead of olive oil and I'd cut back on the vinegar and use more soy sauce. It's good but not quite there for us yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Yummy! This is my new go to veggie recipe! It tasted like Chinese takeout. Next time I am going to thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I love this recipe and make it all the time - even for company. The sweet and sour is a good combination, very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I thought this was just ok. It was a little sweet for my taste and would probably decrease the sugar some. I also decreased the amount of oil and agree with others that sesame oil would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Excellent. We've been using this for years as a sauce over steamed broccoli. I frequently omit the sesame seeds and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Awesome taste. Perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyGT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I substituted toasted sesame oil for the olive oil and my three year old twins cried because they wanted more and I hadn't made enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was just OK! Not great but not bad. I think next time ill try using seasame oil. I also used frozen next time ill try using fresh and add a few gloves of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
A nice change of pace from broccoli with cheese sauce - even my two picky kids liked it! Thanks - I've been looking for something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was really yummy over rice, the leftovers of which I was anxious to use up. I only used half the oil, and that was plenty. I cautiously used all the sugar, and I liked it. I agree it could have used a bit more flavor, so when I make it again I will add a smushed garlic clove to the heating sauce, and then remove the clove before pouring on the broccoli and rice. A bit of ginger would be really nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States