Sesame-Soy Broccoli Florets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
For our tastes anyway, hubs and I both agree sugar does not belong on broccoli. The sweetness was VERY noticeable and was not a good complement. We would have much preferred this with the sugar left out altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Yummy! This is my new go to veggie recipe! It tasted like Chinese takeout. Next time I am going to thicken the sauce with a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very easy and tasty. Good change of pace from our usual steamed broccoli. I added a touch of sesame oil because we love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I used fresh organic broccoli, less sodium soy sauce and brown sugar (for a deeper flavor). This was good but next time, I'd use sesame oil instead of olive oil and I'd cut back on the vinegar and use more soy sauce. It's good but not quite there for us yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Awesome taste. Perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelbyGT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was really yummy over rice, the leftovers of which I was anxious to use up. I only used half the oil, and that was plenty. I cautiously used all the sugar, and I liked it. I agree it could have used a bit more flavor, so when I make it again I will add a smushed garlic clove to the heating sauce, and then remove the clove before pouring on the broccoli and rice. A bit of ginger would be really nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Very good way to get yourself or other reluctant broccoli eaters to eat up! I only had a bag of frozen broccoli but it worked just fine. I'll be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I thought this was just ok. It was a little sweet for my taste and would probably decrease the sugar some. I also decreased the amount of oil and agree with others that sesame oil would probably be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
A nice change of pace from broccoli with cheese sauce - even my two picky kids liked it! Thanks - I've been looking for something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a very fast and easy recipe for broccoli. I enjoyed it, but it wasn't spectacular. I don't think the sauce was quite flavorful enough, and it was a little oily. The flavor that it did have was good, it just needed more. I'm not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States