Sensational Sirloin Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2003
WONDERFUL ... Used 2lb London Broil. Started the marinade about 11pm. Created a 'quick' marinade for veggies - 2TBS garlic Olive Oil, some oregano and garlic. Tossed the veggies for a few minutes before putting on the skewers. While the Kabobs were grilling, put the left-over Beef Marinade in a small sauce pan and brought it to a slow boil. Grilled kabobs for only 9mins ... turning every 3mins ... They were juicy!!! Fortunately there was ample left-over meat (cooking for just my husband and I). After Dinner we grilled the remaining meat to be used later in the week for left-overs. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet  - NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
AWESOME!!! These are the best shishkabobs I've ever tasted! I marinated the beef for a day and a half, and it was soooo tender and flavorful! As another reviewer suggested, for the veggies, I coated them with olive oil and sprinkled them seasoning salt and garlic salt before putting them on the skewers, and they were excellent! I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
YUMMY! This is a 5 star recipe for sure. I changed it a bit (not that it needed it, but I like to experiment and add my own touches) by substituting half of the lemon lime soda for Squirt citrus soda. I also added a tiny bit of liquid smoke. For the vegetables I used the ones in the recipe but added green zuchini and yellow zuchini. I got green, red and yellow bell peppers instead of just green. These were beautiful !! The tip of softening the peppers a bit prior to grilling worked like a charm. I did this only to the peppers and zuchini. This is the first time ever my boyfriend asked me to PLEASE make something again from all the recipes I have made from this site. Kids loved it too. Update: I was excited to make this one again. This time I followed the recipe to the letter . This time NO ONE liked it :( including me. The first time I did changes and also didn't marinated it overnight. It was flavorful and tender. Not sure what happened this time. Maybe it was the sirloin cut, or the overnight marinating made the sirloin tough, but i always tought marinade tenderizes. I was not as flavorful as before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Sensational! This definitely is a slightly sweet marinade that's almost like a teryaki. I used low sodium soy sauce, white wine vinegar, minced garlic vs. garlic powder and since I didn't have garlic pepper seasoning I opted to substitute 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika. I never marinated anything with soda before and this was a nice change from using oils. I put everything into a ziploc bag and marinated the sirloin overnight which I highly recommend. I skewered red and green peppers, red and vidalia onion and cherry tomatoes separate from the meat as they cook at different rates. This smelled great and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
We found these kabobs to be scrumptios! I did have to make a few adjustments, and it was still fine. First, we had no pop, so I substituted lemonade, and second, I did not find good, fresh pineapple, so we left that out. However, these did not take away from the wonderful flavor. (The lemonade we used was the type made from frozen concentrate, not from powdered mix.) I do recommend using a quality cut of meat. We did use really good sirloin the first time we made these, but the cut we used the second time was a little fatty, and it was not nearly as tender or flavorful. White rice is a great side dish for these kabobs. The meat, veggies, and rice make a full meal... and a very good one, at that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is a great recipe! My husband ranted and raved over the taste of the meat and my kids even loved it. It hardly took any time to make the marinate, the hard part now will be waiting the 8 hours while it marinates! My husband took the left overs to work (he is a fire fighter) and the guys called me to get the recipe so they can make it at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GHELMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I made this recipe for guests, and it turned out very well. The pineapple was a nice change....I don't usually put pineapple on my kabobs, but it turned out well. Make sure to marinate the steak overnight so that it is nice and tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
If you like your green pepper alittle crunchy you may not want to parboil the pieces since they come out great when grilling the kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This recipe was a huge hit with the entire family. I can't wait to fix it for a dinner party! The marinade was soooo good, we made extra and put it on white rice as a side. No need to change anything! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Marinaded meat tasted great and I alternated the meat between each vegetable. Everyone loved the kabobs. Next time though I'll cut the beef into 1" cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuteElke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Bison and Veggie Kabobs

Learn how to make lean bison and vegetable kabobs with couscous salad.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States